2010-11 Coastal Carolina Athletics Year in Review

The 2010-11 campaign saw the Chanticleers capture nine Big South Championships.


July 25, 2011

2010-11 Athletics Year in Review (HTML)
2010-11 Athletics Year in Review (PDF)

CONWAY - The 2010-11 season was another banner year for the Coastal Carolina University Department of Athletics. The nearly 430 student-athletes experienced unprecedented success on the playing fields, in the classroom and in the community.

Below is an overview of the Chanticleers' 2010-11 season. See attached 2010-11 Athletics Year in Review for additional and more detailed information.

•    Placed second overall in the Big South Sasser Cup Standings, capturing the Men’s Big South All-Sport Trophy and placed third on the women’s side.

•    Women's Basketball’s Katie White won the Big South’s Christenberry Award for Academic Excellence.

•    Won nine Big South Team Championships: Baseball (regular season and tournament), Football (regular season), Men's Basketball (regular season), Men’s Soccer (tournament), Women’s Golf (tournament), Women’s Outdoor Track and Field, Women's Soccer (regular season) and Women's Tennis (regular season).

•    Five teams earned NCAA Championship berths: Baseball, Football, Men’s Golf, Men's Soccer and Women's Golf. Men’s Basketball added a second straight National Invitational Tournament postseason berth. Individually, 16 Outdoor Track and Field student-athletes qualified for the NCAA Championships, including nine men and seven women.

•    The Women’s Golf squad placed fourth at the NCAA East Regional and became the first team in Big South history to qualify for the NCAA Women’s Golf Championships.

•    The Men’s Basketball team won its second straight Big South regular-season title, became the first team in Big South history to win at least 25 games in consecutive years (winning 28 in 2009-10 as well as 2010-11), became the first team in Big South history to win 16 league games, and also held the nation’s longest winning streak at 22 games.

•    The Football team won its fourth Big South Championship in eight years as a program. The Chanticleers, who were the first and only Big South team to earn an NCAA FCS Playoff berth, earned the league’s first-ever automatic bid to the NCAA FCS Playoffs. In doing so, Coastal became the first Big South team to host an NCAA FCS Playoff game.

•    The Baseball team won the Big South regular season title and the Big South Tournament for the fifth straight season, becoming the first school in league history to win five consecutive Big South Tournament championships.

•    The Women's Outdoor Track and Field team won its sixth Big South Championship since 2004.

•    Five All-Americans: Football (David Duran, Danny Bonifas), Baseball (Tommy La Stella, Matt Rein) and Men's Basketball (Chad Gray).

•    86 All-Big South Conference selections and 66 Big South Conference Players of the Week. (Compared to 74 All-Big South picks and 52 Big South Players of the Week in 2009-10.)

•    Five Academic All-District III selections: Women’s Basketball (Katie White), Women's Soccer (Colleen Schohl) and Baseball (Tucker Frawley), and Volleyball (Chelsy Kimes, Megan Bickford). Four teams received academic recognition for excellence by their respective coaches association: Men’s and Women’s Cross Country and Men’s and Women’s Soccer.

•    Five Big South Athletes of the Year: Baseball Pitcher of the Year (Matt Rein), Baseball Player of the Year (Tommy La Stella), Football Defensive Player of the Year (Andrae Jacobs), Women’s Golf Player of the Year (Jessica Alexander) and Women’s Indoor Track and Field Most Outstanding Field Performer (Kierra Gabe).

•    Three Big South Coaches of the Year: Football (David Bennett), Women's Golf (Katie Quinney) and Women's Outdoor Track and Field (Alan Connie).

•    Big South Freshman of the Year: Women’s Golf (Courtney Boe); and three Big South All-Freshman honors: Women’s Soccer (Kate Wilkinson) and Men’s Soccer (Justin PortilloPedro Ribeiro).

•    Two Big South Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Volleyball (Chelsy Kimes) and Women’s Basketball (Katie White).

•    Big South Men’s Tennis Singles Flight Champions (2), Women’s Tennis Singles Flight Champions (3), Women's Tennis Doubles Flight Champions (2), Baseball Big South Tournament MVP, and 19 Big South Individual Men’s and Women’s Track and Field Champions.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago