For 33 years - from its inclusion as an original member on Aug. 21, 1983, to its final days in 2016 - the Coastal Carolina University Department of Athletics set the bar for athletic excellence in the conference.

In addition to its three-decade run of dominance that included numerous Sasser Cups, NCAA Championship appearances, Big South championships and Hall of Fame inductees, Coastal Carolina has played a large a role in the shaping of the conference.

Dr. Edward Singleton, Coastal Carolina University's Chancellor from 1963-83, served as the first Big South Conference Commissioner from 1983-88. George F. "Buddy" Sasser then took over Commissioner duties in 1989 following a three-year stint as the Coastal Carolina Director of Athletics. Both played important roles in the direction of the Big South in its early years, including expanding conference membership and securing automatic bids into NCAA Championships for member institutions.

Coastal Carolina ended its time in the Big South Conference on June 30, 2016, in the most dramatic way possible ... winning the 2016 NCAA Division I Baseball National Championship, the fist team championship by a Big South member institution. 

The following is a brief list of Coastal Carolina's athletic accomplishments during its time in the Big South Conference.

Sasser Cups

Following the 1985-86 academic year, the Big South Conference started awarding the Commissioner's Cup to the member institution with the most successful year athletically. Points were awarded based on regular season and tournament finishes in each of the league's championships.

The Chanticleers first captured the Commissioner's Cup following the 1987-88 seasons, and held on to the trophy for the next three years.

Coastal next won the trophy following the 2000-01 seasons, the same year that the award was renamed the Sasser Cup to honor the retiring George F. "Buddy" Sasser, who served as the Big South Commissioner from 1989-96, and Coastal Carolina Director of Athletics from 1986-89 and 1996-2000.

Since then the Chanticleers have won the Sasser Cup six more times, including four straight years from 2004-07 and consecutively in 2013-14 and 2014-15.

Overall, Coastal is tied with Liberty for most Sasser Cups in conference history with 11.

Coastal Carolina University's Sasser Cups
1987-88, 1988-89, 1989-90, 1990-91, 2000-01, 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2013-14, 2014-15

Big South Men's and Women's All-Sports Trophies
The Men's and Women's All-Sports Trophies are awarded based on the same average points system, broken down by gender. The awards were first institued for the 2003-04 school year.

Coastal Carolina University 's Men's All-Sports Trophy

2005-06, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15

Coastal Carolina University's Women's All-Sports Trophies

2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2008-09, 2013-14

NCAA Championship Appearances

Coastal Carolina has been an annual mainstay in the NCAA postseason since the Big South was awarded automatic bids to national championships.

The Chanticleers first represented the conference in postseason play in 1991 when both the baseball and men's basketball teams reached their respective NCAA tournaments. Since then, a Coastal Carolina team or individual student-athlete has qualified for the NCAA postseason every year, with the exception of 1994.

The 2016 Chanticleer baseball team won the Big South's first and only National Championship on June 30, 2016.

In all, 123 Coastal Carolina teams or individuals have represented the Big South in NCAA championships. In addition, 15 of Coastal's 19 championship-sponsored sports have made postseason appearances. Of the four that have yet to qualify for a national championship are lacrosse and beach volleyball, which played their first seasons of competition in 2013 and 2016, respectively.

Big South Championships

Coastal Carolina's three decades of dominance in the Big South have seen the Chanticleers claim 169 conference championships, including regular season, tournament and individual titles.

Particularly dominant in this area are the Chanticleer baseball and men's soccer teams, which lead all Big South member institutions with 28 and 24 conference championships, respectively, as well as the Chanticleer football team, which has claimed the conference championship in seven of its 13 years of competition.

Not to be overlooked are the Chanticleer softball (14), men's golf (14), women's cross country (13), men's basketball (11), men's tennis (11) and volleyball (10) programs, all of which have won double-figure conference championships.

Big South Hall of Fame

The Big South Hall of Fame was formed in 2003-04 as part of the conference's 20th anniversary celebration. Included in that inaugural class were a conference-leading four Chanticleers. Since then, a total of 20 Chanticleers have been inducted into the Hall, constituting almost a third of the conference's 61 inductees.

Of the 20 Chanticleers enshrined, 15 are former student-athletes, three are former coaches and two are former administrators.

Big South All-Decade Teams

In 2013 the Big South Conference announced its All-Decade Teams in honor of the league's 30-year anniversary. Student-athletes across all sports from 1983-89, 1990-99 and 2000-09 were included in the voting.

Coastal Carolina led the way with 156 former student-athletes being voted onto the various All-Decade Teams, or nearly a quarter of 687 total student-athletes from all Big South member institutions.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago