Women's Cross Country Finishes Third at Big South Cross Country Championship

Shelby Donahue and Janel Reeves earn All-Conference honors.

Shelby Donahue was the Chants top finisher at sixth.

Shelby Donahue was the Chants top finisher at sixth.

Oct. 31, 2009


Final Stats



WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The Coastal Carolina University women’s cross country team finished third at the Big South Cross Country Championship on Saturday, Oct. 31, at Shady Oaks Kennel in Winston-Salem, NC. The Liberty Flames won 2009 title and the Virginia Military Institute’s Hannah Granger finished first in the women’s 6K to take home Runner of the Year honors.

Liberty posted 47 points, followed by VMI (66 points) and Coastal Carolina (76). In fourth-place was High Point with 86 points and Winthrop closed the top five 117 points. In sixth was UNC Asheville with 148 points and in seventh was Radford with 172 points. Gardner-Webb (225) and Charleston Southern (262) rounded out the list.

The Keydets’ Hannah Granger finished in first with a time of 18:25, followed by Liberty’s Dacia Bushman (18:32) and Jennifer Klugh (18:37) who finished second and third respectively. Jenna Moye of VMI finished fourth with a time of 18:39. Radford’s Lori Crotts crossed the line in fifth with a time of 18:45. Coastal Carolina took sixth and seventh when Shelby Donahue finished in 19:06 and was followed closely by teammate Janel Reeves who finished in 19:09. High Point’s Emily Webb finished in 19:12 claiming eighth. Brooke Spencer of Winthrop finished in ninth with a time of 19:16 while UNC Asheville’s Melanie Kulesz rounded out the All-Conference runners, finishing with a time of 19:18.

The Chanticleers picked up the 20th, 21st and 22nd spots in Maranie Staab at 19:45, Theresa Schamberger at 19:49 and Christian Johnson not far behind, finishing with a time of 19:51. Rindi Wood was next to finish at 39th with 20:43 and rounding out the pack was Jessica Dennison, who came in 44th at 21:00.

“I am very proud of the way the team fought today even thought we were shorthanded going into the race,” Head Coach Alan Connie said. “They fought as hard as they could and battled to the end. I am really proud of their effort.”

VMI’s Paul Spangler was named Coach of the Year, while Jenna Moye earned Freshman of the Year honors. Winthrop’s Carly Moss was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The Big South Conference would like to thank its presenting sponsors UCS, Penguin Sport-Wash and Musco for their contributions to the 2009 Big South Conference Women’s Cross Country Championship.

2009 Runner of the Year
Hannah Granger, VMI 2009

Freshman of the Year
Jenna Moye, VMI

2009 Big South All-Conference Team
Hannah Granger, VMI Dacia Bushman,
Liberty Jennifer Klugh,
Liberty Jenna Moye, VMI
Lori Crotts, Radford
Shelby Donahue, Coastal Carolina
Janel Reeves, Coastal Carolina
Emily Webb, High Point
Brooke Spencer, Winthrop
Melanie Kulesz, UNC Asheville

2009 Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Carly Moss, Winthrop

2009 Cross Country All-Academic Team
Carly Moss, Winthrop
Theresa Schamberger, Coastal Carolina
Brittany Christian, Radford
Katie Olert, UNC Asheville
Tracy Epley, Jr. Charleston Southern
Joya Canfield, High Point
Dacia Bushman, Liberty
Laura Scott, Gardner-Webb
Hannah Granger, VMI
Mellette Johnson, Presbyterian

Coach of the Year
Paul Spangler, VMI



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago