Laffin Named Big South Woman of the Year Award Nominee


Senior Meghan Laffin

May 9, 2014

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - The Big South Conference announced today the official nominees for the Conference’s Woman of the Year award for 2013-14, with a record-tying 13 student-athletes from 11 member institutions comprising this year’s candidates. The Conference’s Woman of the Year award is sponsored by Big South Corporate Partner Musco Sports Lighting. Senior Meghan Laffin of the Coastal Carolina University volleyball team was one of 13 student-athletes from around the conference to receive the honor.

The Big South’s Woman of the Year Selection Committee will determine two finalists, to be announced next week, and the overall winner will be declared and recognized at the Big South’s Awards & Hall of Fame Dinner on Thursday, May 29, at The Marriott Resort in Hilton Head, S.C. The Big South Woman of the Year winner is nominated as a candidate for the national NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

This year’s nominees are Campbell softball player Shaela Churchill (Winterville, N.C.), Charleston Southern tennis player Alexandra Walters (Adelaide, Australia), Coastal Carolina volleyball player Meghan Laffin (Mineola, N.Y.), High Point soccer player Becca Hemby (Frederick, Md.), High Point lacrosse player Jasmine Jordan (Baltimore, Md.), Liberty field hockey player Jordan Richardson (Reading, Pa.), Longwood golfer Amanda Steinhagen (Oak Hill, Va.), Presbyterian basketball player Sherece Smith (Clemson, S.C.), Radford soccer player Rachel Conway (Kitchener, Ontario), UNC Asheville tennis player Zoe Hamel (Sedan, France), VMI track & field athlete Kate Collins (Lovingston, Va.), Winthrop basketball player Dequesha McClanahan (Oak Ridge, Tenn.) and Winthrop track & field athlete Jeanne Stroud (Charleston, S.C.).

Laffin, a marketing major, has a 3.87 GPA. Some of her numerous accomplishments and activities include CCU’s Honors Program, Women’s Volleyball, Wall Fellows Program, WCCU Radio, Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Student Affairs Student Leader Team, Big South Leadership Conference, Golden Key International Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa National Honor Society, Beta Gamma Sigma International Business Honor Society and Phi Sigma Tau Philosophy Honor Society. She was also recently named the recipient of CCU’s Ronald D. Lackey Public Service Award.

Laffin was a four-year member of the CCU volleyball team. She started 83 matches over her career while playing in 114. She finished with 902 kills, 38 service aces, 262 digs and 183 blocks.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago