Coastal Carolina Women's Track and Field Welcomes 12 Newcomers

Featuring four state champions, four All-State, and two transfers

Women's Track and Field welcomes 12 newcomers

Women's Track and Field welcomes 12 newcomers

Aug. 13, 2009

CONWAY, S.C. – Coastal Carolina Head Women’s Track and Field Coach Alan Connie announces the addition of 12 newcomers to his 2009-10 squad. The group features four state champions, four more All-State and two transfers, one from Robert Morris who was the Northeast Conference Champion and NCAA East Region qualifier and the other from South Carolina who finished ninth in the Southeastern Conference Outdoor Championships in the hammer throw.

The team is coming off winning the 2008-09 Big South’s version of the “Triple Crown,” consisting of winning cross country, indoor track, and track and field championships.

Janel Reeves (Rustburg, Va./ Brookville)
2008 Virginia Class AA State Cross Country Champion
2009 Virginia All-State - 1600 and 3200 meters

Emma Hulburd (Shelbourne, Vt./ Rice Memorial)
2008 Vermont Division II All-State Cross Country
2009 Vermont Division II State Champion - 1500 and 3000 meters

Tenasia White (Summerville, S.C./ Summerville)
2009 Class AAAA State Champion – Discus

Jerica Howard (Huger, S.C./ Hanahan)
2009 Class AA State Champion – 400 meters

Samantha Simile (Washington, Pa./ Chartiers Houston/ (Robert Morris))
NCAA East Region Qualifier Northeast Conference Champion – 400 meter hurdles

Shantelle Patterson (Pawley’s Island, S.C./ Waccamaw/ (South Carolina))
2009 Finished ninth in SEC Outdoor Championships – Hammer Throw

Stephanie Ramirez (Pittsburgh, Pa./ Plum)
2008 All-State 100 and 300 meter hurdles

Melekia Simpson (Greenwood, S.C./ Greenwood)
2009 All-State Class AAAA 200 meters

Jenna Kazmierczak (Oak Island, N.C./ South Brunswick)
2009 All-State 100 meter hurdles

Anjulia Nicholson (Aiken, S.C./ South Aiken)
All-State Class AAAA Discus

Jocelyn Starinshak (Wadsworth, Ohio/ Wadsworth)
2009 All District Track – Pole Vault

Jessica Dennison (Avila, Ind./ East Noble)
2008 All-District Cross Country 2009 All-District Track – 1600 meters



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago