Women's Indoor Track Goes for Sixth Big South Title

The Chanticleers are going for their sixth Big South Conference title.

Darriale Henley won the long jump at last year's Big South Championship.

Darriale Henley won the long jump at last year's Big South Championship.

Feb. 23, 2011

Live Results / Live Webcast / Meet Information

CONWAY, S.C. - The Coastal Carolina University women’s indoor track and field team heads to the Big South Indoor Track and Field Championship Friday through Saturday, Feb. 24-25.  The Chanticleers are going for their sixth title in eight years.  Last year, Liberty snapped Coastal’s four year championship win streak with a 37.50 point differential between the two teams as Liberty registered 182.5 points and Coastal earned 145. 

Going into the championship, Coastal ranks first in the Big South top 10 rankings in seven different events.  Erica Peake earned the top spot in the 200 meters with a time of 24.72 and  Santresa Jamison is ranked first in the 400 meters with a time of 56.12.  The Chants 4x400-meter relay team, consisting of Jamison, Peake, Vondeeshia Humphries and Samantha Simile led the Big South in the event with a time of 3:51.33 along with the distance medley team, consisting of Janel Reeves, Estefania Ramirez, Jessica Dennison and Shelby Nicosia, who hold the first place ranking with a time of 12:39.59.  Darriale Henley ranks first in the long jump with a distance of 18’7” and Shantelle Patterson leads the Big South in the weight throw with a toss of 54’8.75”.

Last year’s returning champion, Liberty currently holds five first-place rankings in the Big South. 

Last season, the Chanticleers finished with six individual conference champions and 15 All-Big South honorees.    Of the 15 All-Big South honorees, eight are returning, including four event champions.

Sophomore Kierra Gabe won the high jump last year by setting a new conference championship meet record with a jump of 5’7.75” (1.72m).  Henley took the individual title in the long jump with a leap of 18’10.5” (5.75m).  The 4x400-meter relay has two members from last year’s team returning in Jamison and Humphries.  The team outran the competition to take home the title with a time of 3:49.64 in the event.  The final event winner from last year was Melissa Arango who was crowned the 60-meter hurdles champion after running a season best 8.72 in the event.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago