Dominique de Wit Receives Big South Christenberry Award

De Wit is the 17th Chanticleer to be awarded the Christenberry.


Dominique de Wit

May 7, 2014

CONWAY - Coastal Carolina University senior women’s tennis player Dominique De Wit is among a record seven Big South student-athletes to receive the league’s prestigious George A. Christenberry Award for Academic Excellence, the highest academic honor awarded by the conference. 

The award is given annually to the male and female student-athletes who attain the highest GPA during their college careers. It is the 11th time in the last 12 years that more than two student-athletes have been honored. The conference will formally present the awards on May 29 at The Marriott Resort in Hilton Head, S.C., as part of the league’s spring meetings and Hall of Fame Dinner. 

Joining de Wit (4.00 in political science) as Christenberry Award recipients are Presbyterian College women’s soccer player Emily Boggus (4.00 in psychology), Campbell softball player Shaela Churchill (4.00 in mathematics/teacher licensure), Radford women’s soccer player Rachel Conway (4.00 in sports medicine), Winthrop women’s track & field athlete Hannah Hadaway (4.00 in biology), Liberty volleyball player Rebecca Haraf (4.00 in biology/pre-med) and Campbell baseball player Brandon Wilson (4.00 in kinesiology). 

De Wit (Son en Breugel, The Netherlands) holds a 4.0 GPA as a political science major at Coastal Carolina. The 2014 Big South Women’s Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year was a member of the 2012-13 Big South Presidential Honor Roll and has been named to the conference’s all-academic team twice in her career. De Wit has additionally been named an ITA Scholar-Athlete three years running from 2011-13, and was named Coastal Carolina’s 2013-14 Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year at the Student-Athlete Excellence Awards this past week. 

On the court, de Wit competed mainly in doubles, finishing her four-year career with a 40-12 overall record while going 14-2 against conference opponents. De Wit led Coastal in doubles as a senior in 2014, finishing 16-4, 6-2 and receiving all-conference doubles honors. In 2013, she ranked second for Coastal in doubles with an overall record of 14-3 while also compiling a perfect 8-0 mark against league opponents to be named the Big South’s No. 3 doubles flight champion. As a freshman and sophomore, de Wit was a member of Coastal teams that reached the Big South Championship. 

The honor is named for George A. Christenberry, the former president of Augusta College (now Augusta State University) and one of the founders of the Big South Conference. A member of the Big South Hall of Fame, Christenberry served as the league’s first president from 1983-86. 

“The Christenberry Award is the highest academic honor awarded to Big South student-athletes,” said Big South Conference Commissioner Kyle B. Kallander.  “It is incredible to think that seven individuals completed their academic career with perfect GPAs, especially with the demands placed on them as student-athletes.  We congratulate Emily, Shaela, Rachel, Dominique, Hannah, Rebecca and Brandon for their accomplishments in the classroom and on the field of play.  Their careers truly exemplify the highest ideals of the Big South Conference.” 

De Wit is the 17th Chanticleer to earn the Big South’s Christenberry Award for Academic Excellence since the inception of the award at the conclusion of the 1985-86 academic year. A total of 10 male and seven female Coastal Carolina student-athletes have garnered the prestigious award. The Chanticleers boast a total of 17 total award winners, more than any other current or former Big South institution.

Coastal Carolina’s Christenberry Award Winners
Donal Pokorny (1985-86)
Herbert Jolley Jr. (1986-87)
Thomas Drake (1987-88)
Thomas Henderup (1989-90)
Bjorki Johannesson (1990-91)
Ronald Ohrel (1991-92)
Tomas Malik (1996-97)
Kara Koppel (2002-03)
Keith Garramone (2003-04)
Brittany Nelson (2005-06)
Anthony Franklin (2006-07)
Felicitas Mensing (2007-08)
Marcie Veitch (2008-09)
Mikaela Terry (2009-10)
Katie White (2010-11)
Justin Creel (2012-13)
Dominique De Wit (2013-14)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago