Cox Named Sun Belt Freshman of the Year; Babayan Voted All-Conference


April 20, 2017

NEW ORLEANS, La. - Rylie Cox of the Coastal Carolina women's tennis team was voted the Sun Belt Conference Women's Tennis Freshman of the Year and a first team All-Sun Belt singles selection, it was announced Thursday evening at the conference's annual awards banquet. Additionally, senior Marie Babayan was voted to the All-Sun Belt singles second team.

Cox finished second for Coastal in singles wins with a 13-6 overall record while playing the entire season at No. 1. The Rockwall, Texas, native enters the upcoming Sun Belt Championship having won eight of her last 10 singles matches, a stretch that included a season-long six-match winning streak. The first-year Chanticleer also posted a winning record in doubles, finishing the regular season 9-7 overall while playing on the first and second courts.

Babayan closed the regular season with the team's highest winning percentage in singles after finishing 12-2 while playing primarily at No. 3. The senior from Bradenton, Fla., was also unbeaten in a pair of matches against Sun Belt opponents. Babayan has suffered just one loss in her last 10 singles matches, and carries a four-match winning streak into the Sun Belt Championship. Babayan additionally had a 13-6 record in doubles and was a mainstay on the top court.

Coastal earned the conference's fifth seed and begins its first Sun Belt Championship versus No. 4 Troy on Friday at 8 a.m. (CT) from the City Park Tennis Courts in New Orleans, La.

All-Sun Belt Singles First Team
Rylie Cox -- Coastal Carolina
Kristin Rehse -- Georgia State
Arina Taluyenko -- Georgia State
Stefana Andrei -- ULM
Tiffany Mylonas -- ULM
Alexandria Stiteler -- South Alabama

All-Sun Belt Singles Second Team
Julie Gauguery -- A-State
Marie Babayan -- Coastal Carolina
Petra Horakova -- ULM
Laura Matuskova -- South Alabama
Angeles de los Rio -- UTA
Agustina Serio -- UTA

All-Sun Belt Doubles First Team
Astrid Gehre/Anna Wichert -- UTA
Agustina Serio/Valeria Lopez -- UTA
Sanae Ohta/Nancy Karaky -- Troy

All-Sun Belt Doubles Second Team
Stefana Andrei/Petra Horakova -- ULM
Patricia Martins/Laura Valkova -- South Alabama
Alexandria Stitler/Monica Mitta -- South Alabama

Player of the Year
Alexandria Stitler -- South Alabama

Player to Watch
Arina Taluyenko -- Georgia State

Newcomer of the Year
Stefana Andrei -- ULM

Freshman of the Year
Rylie Cox -- Coastal Carolina

Coach of the Year
Terrence De Jongh - ULM



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago