Two Chanticleers Earn Big South Honors

Alyssa Clark named second team All-Big South.


Nov. 2, 2011

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Two members of the Coastal Carolina women's soccer team have garnered Big South postseason awards, according to an announcement from the conference office. Alyssa Clark was named a second team All-Big South defender while Jessie Benchley earned All-Big South academic team honors.

Clark recorded one goal and a team leading three assists to tally five points from her outside back position. The Waxhaw, N.C., native appeared in all 19 games for the Chanticleers making 15 starts. Clark anchored the Coastal backline that recorded back-to-back shutout victories over Big South opponents VMI and UNC Asheville. She scored against Charleston Southern with 24 seconds remaining to send the match to overtime. The sophomore tallied two assists via free kick this season: one against High Point and one at Presbyterian College. Her third assist of the year came by way of a corner kick against Winthrop. She totaled a career-high four shots against VMI on her way to attempting a career-best 13 total shots.

Benchley holds a 3.86 overall GPA and a perfect 4.00 GPA in the Coastal Carolina Exercise and Sports Science program. The senior has earned a pair of President's List and four Dean's List honors through her six semesters in Conway. She is a three-time member of the Big South Conference Presidential Honor Roll. A native of Hudson, Ill., Benchley returned from a season-ending injury a year ago to start 11 of 13 games played in 2011. She helped record back-to-back shutouts in Coastal's two wins. She finished the season with seven shot attempts from her defensive midfield position, three of which fell on frame.

Since the program's inaugural season in 2000, the Chanticleers have totaled 41 All-Big South Conference honorees with 22 student-athletes earning first team honors and 19 garnering second team recognition.

2011 Big South Conference Women's Soccer Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference
F: Courtney Durbin, Sr., Winthrop
F: Krystyna Freda, Fr., Winthrop
F: Ashley Clark, Fr. Campbell
F: Pirjo Leppikangas, Sr., Campbell
MF: Kelli Joline, Soph., High Point
MF: Kirsty Meyer, R-Jr., Campbell
MF: Leilani Halkiotis, Sr., UNC Asheville
MF: Allie Vandewater, Jr., Winthrop
D: Tyler Drake, Soph., Radford
D: Janay Whittaker, Jr., High Point
D: Taylor Brown, Jr., Campbell
D: Casey Bolduc, Sr., Charleston Southern
GK: Che' Brown, Soph., Radford

Second-Team All-Conference
F: Silvia Betancourt, Sr., Liberty
F: Dawn Rollyson, Sr., Gardner-Webb
F: Julie Ruh'e, Soph., Radford
F: Toni Lashley, Soph., Charleston Southern
MF: Becca Hemby, Soph., High Point
MF: Megan Curan, Fr., Gardner-Webb
MF: Katie Taber, Sr., High Point
MF: Sarah Strand, Sr., VMI
D: Megan Pritts, Soph., Winthrop
D: Sammy Vercellino, Soph., High Point
D: Lauren Stell, Jr., Liberty
D: Alyssa Clark, Soph., Coastal Carolina
GK: Andrea Ritchie, Sr., High Point

All-Freshman Team
Krystyna Freda, F, Winthrop
Ashley Clark, F, Campbell
Maddie Boone, MF, Liberty
Jacky Kessler, F, High Point
Stephanie Herb, D, Radford
Ashley Herndon, D, Winthrop
Stephanie Hand, D, Charleston Southern
Megan Curan, MF, Gardner-Webb
Kara Nay, MF, Radford
Kaitlyn Eckert, F, UNC Asheville
Gracie Boswell, F, Presbyterian College

All-Academic Team
Taylor Brown, Campbell
Allison Lewis, Charleston Southern
Jessie Benchley, Coastal Carolina
Megan Tremblay, Gardner-Webb
Brielle Spencer, High Point
Karen Blocker, Liberty
Emily Boggus, Presbyterian College
Megan Rhodes, Radford
Hannah Jeske, UNC Asheville
Simone Jimenez, VMI
Rachel Webster, Winthrop

Attacking Player of the Year
Courtney Durbin, F, Sr., Winthrop

Defensive Player of the Year
Tyler Drake, D, Soph., Radford

Freshman of the Year
Krystyna Freda, F, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Ben Sohrabi, Radford

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Brielle Spencer, High Point



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago