2013 Women's Lacrosse Schedule Announced

CCU will host a play-day Sunday, Oct. 13 at Fowler practice fields from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.


Head coach Jamie Sellers will lead the Chants in their inaugural season

Oct. 10, 2012

2013 Women's Lacrosse Schedule

CONWAY - Nine home contests, including three against conference opponents, highlight the inaugural Coastal Carolina women's lacrosse schedule announced today by head coach Jamie Sellers.

The Chants will start their season with four consecutive non-conference games at home, including their inaugural game against Cincinnati on Friday, Feb. 15 at Brooks Stadium. Also included in the home stand are Marquette (Feb. 17), Virginia Tech (Feb. 23) and St. Bonaventure (Feb. 27).

Other notable non-conference contests include home matches against St. Francis (March 5) and Detroit Mercy (March 22) as well as a tough road game against American University (March 13).

Coastal will begin Big South play with a three-game road trip to Presbyterian (March 30), High Point (April 1) and Longwood (April 5) before hosting three home games against Winthrop (April 7), Liberty (April 12) and Davidson (April 14). The Chants will close out their season at Campbell on April 20.

The 2013 schedule features three games against opponents ranked in the top 50 in the NCAA last season: High Point (31), Virginia Tech (43) and American (49).

Also featured are seven Big South opponents: Campbell and Winthrop will showcase first-year lacrosse programs to join High Point, Liberty, Longwood, Presbyterian and associate conference member Davidson, all of whom formerly competed in the now-defunct National Lacrosse Conference.

"I am both pleased and excited to announce the schedule for our inaugural season," said Sellers. "This is a groundbreaking year not only for Coastal Carolina, but also the entire Big South Conference in its first year sponsoring women's lacrosse. Our 2013 schedule includes a dynamic mix of new and veteran programs, which will make for an exciting spring season."

The Big South Tournament will feature the top four teams and begin on April 26 with two semifinal matches at the top seed's campus. The Big South Championship will be played on April 28 at the same location. The winner of the Big South Tournament will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago