Big South Conference Receives Automatic Bid to NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship


Aug. 20, 2012

CHARLOTTE, N.C. ( - The Big South Conference has received automatic qualification to the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship as part of a postseason bracket expansion approved by the NCAA Executive Committee. The Big South is now one of 13 conferences that will have an automatic bid in women's lacrosse beginning this season as the championship field increases from 16 to 26 teams.

The Big South will play its inaugural women's lacrosse season in 2013 with eight squads -- Campbell, Coastal Carolina, High Point, Liberty, Longwood, Presbyterian College and Winthrop, as well as associate member Davidson. Of those eight, Campbell, Coastal Carolina and Winthrop will debut their respective programs this spring. The first Big South Women's Lacrosse Championship will be a four-team format and will be contested the weekend of April 26-28 at the No. 1 seed.

The 2013 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship will seed the top eight teams in the bracket and host first and second round games the weekend of May 10-12. The top six seeded teams will receive byes into the second round and serve as hosts for a neutral site first round game on May 10. The first round winners then play at the top six seeded teams on May 12. The teams seeded seventh and eighth will also host but will play a first round game. The NCAA quarterfinals are at campus sites May 18-19, with the four winners advancing to the finals May 24-26.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago