Women's Golf Trio Named All-Big South Conference

Lena Schaeffner, Marissa Hinchman and Frida Castillo were voted All-Big South by the league's coaches


Frida Castillo earned her second All-Big South honor

April 11, 2014

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Coastal Carolina University golfers Lena Schaeffner, Marissa Hinchman and Frida Castillo have been voted All-Big South Conference by the league’s coaches, the conference office announced Friday.

The all-conference honors are the first for Schaeffner and Hinchman, both of whom earned all-freshman team plaudits a year ago. The award is the second in Castillo’s career after garnering her first as a freshman in 2012.

Schaeffner, a three-time Big South Golfer of the Week selection, closed the regular season with a 74.26 scoring average, ranking second-best in the conference. The Rettigheim, Germany, native was Coastal’s top performer in six of nine tournaments this season, scoring a pair of top-five, three top-10 and six top-20 event finishes. She posted her top round of the season with a career-best 4-under 68 at the Briar’s Creek Invitational. She went on to post a career-best 54-hole score of 217 at the tournament, tying for second in the 93-competitor field. Of her 27 rounds of competition throughout the season, seven have been at par or better, including two rounds in the 60s.

Hinchman, a native of Lodi, Calif., wrapped up her second collegiate regular season holding the Big South’s eighth-best scoring average at 75.81. Hinchman’s season was highlighted by a fourth-place finish at The Challenge at Onion Creek after turning in a career-best 214 54-hole tally. Included in her 214 score at The Challenge at Onion Creek is her career-best 18-hole score of 69. Her consistent play throughout the season led to one top-five, two top-10 and three top-20 event finishes. She played two rounds at par or better, including one round in the 60s.

Castillo, a junior hailing from Cordoba, Mexico, owns the conference’s ninth-best scoring average at 76.11. She leads the Chanticleers with 61 birdies on the season, ranking 109th of 4,868 in the nation. In addition, each of her 27 rounds this season has counted in the team score. She scored a career-best 54-hole total with an 8-over 218 at The Challenge at Onion Creek and has totaled a career-best 18-hole score of 71 on three occasions. Castillo has one top-10 and two top-20 finishes this season.

In addition to being honored for her work on the links, Castillo was also tabbed to the Big South All-Academic team. She holds a 3.50 GPA as an exercise and sport management major.

Campbell’s Kaylin Yost was selected as the Big South Golfer of the Year, High Point’s Sarah Bae was the unanimous pick for Freshman of the Year and High Point’s Vici Pate Flesher was voted as Coach of the Year. Radford’s Kirsty Condon was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the league’s sports information directors.

The reigning champion Chanticleers tee off at the Big South Championship starting at 9:40 a.m. on Sunday, April 13. The tournament, which is contested at The Patriot Course at Grand Harbor in Ninety Six, S.C., continues with 18 holes of play on Monday before wrapping up with a final round on Tuesday. The champion will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals.

The top five finishers (and any ties) in the conference championship will receive All-Championship Team honors.

2014 Big South Conference Women’s Golf Award Winners

All-Conference Team
Kaylin Yost, Sr., Campbell
Sarah Bae, Fr., High Point
Amanda Steinhagen, Sr., Longwood
Lena Schaeffner, Soph., Coastal Carolina
Tahnia Ravnjak, Soph., Campbell
Marissa Hinchman, Soph., Coastal Carolina
Lisbeth Brooks, Jr., Campbell
Jennifer Dilger, Jr., Winthrop
Alexandra Prazak, Sr., Campbell
Frida Castillo, Jr., Coastal Carolina

All-Freshman Team
Sarah Bae, High Point
Louise Latorre, Campbell
Taylor Dodson, Gardner-Webb
Louise Jeppesen, Winthrop
Courtney Tolton, Longwood

All-Academic Team
Lisbeth Brooks, Jr., Campbell
Jordan Hollinshead, Sr., Charleston Southern
Frida Castillo, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Mary Katherine Donovan, Soph., Gardner-Webb
Grier Bennett, Jr., High Point
Hannah Pierce, Sr., Longwood
Kalie Goodman, Sr., Presbyterian College
Kirsty Condon, Sr., Radford
Jennifer Dilger, Jr., Winthrop

Golfer of the Year
Kaylin Yost, Sr., Campbell

Freshman of the Year
Sarah Bae, High Point (unanimous)

Coach of the Year
Vici Pate Flesher, High Point

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kirsty Condon, Sr., Radford



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago