Coastal Carolina Announces its Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2010

Medina Bajrambasic Walsh, Adam Keim, Terah Kipchiris, Jeanne Lambert, Justin Owens and Rafael Vera - will be inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame


Aug. 6, 2010

Photo Gallery of 2010 Hall of Fame Class

CONWAY - Six Chanticleer greats - Medina Bajrambasic Walsh, Adam Keim, Terah Kipchiris, Jeanne Lambert, Justin Owens and Rafael Vera - will be inducted into the Coastal Carolina Sasser Athletics Hall of Fame this November.

The official induction ceremony will be Nov. 12 (Friday) and the group will be honored the following day as the Chanticleer football team hosts preseason Big South favorite Liberty. (Kickoff for that contest is set for 1:00 pm and the game will be broadcast on ESPN3.)

Bajrambasic (Women's Tennis 2000-04) is the school's all-time leader in doubles wins (93), while ranking second on the all-time singles wins list (105). Bajrambasic was the 2004 Big South Player of the Year and the 2001 Big South Rookie of the Year. She was a four-time All-Big South Conference selection in singles, as well as a four-time All-Big South Conference pick in doubles (two years with Dana Goffin and two years with Marie Matrka). In addition to her success on the courts, she was a 2004 ITA Scholar-Athlete honoree for posting at least a 3.5 GPA for the year. As a sophomore, Bajrambasic helped Coastal Carolina to its first Big South championship as well as the program's first appearance in the NCAA Championship.

Keim (Baseball 200-02) was the 2002 Big South Tournament MVP and a two-time All-Big South selection (2001 and '02). He served both as the starting shortstop and a closer, batting an even .300 for his career while earning seven saves in 19 games with 26 strikeouts in 29 innings pitched. Currently in the Coastal Carolina record books, his 149 career RBI ranks eighth, his 27 career home runs rank 10th (tied), his 44 career doubles rank 10th (tied) and his 210 career hits rank 18th (tied). In 2002, Keim blasted 16 home runs, which ranked sixth-best at the time and stands 10th (tied) currently, while leading the team in hits (76) and RBI (66). He helped the program under Gary Gilmore to its first two NCAA berths (2001 and '02) - and just Coastal's second and third NCAA berths all time - and went on to become a 12th-round draft pick of the Kansas City Royals.

Kipchiris (Men's Cross Country/Track 2002-05) was the first Coastal Carolina male cross country/track athlete to qualify for the NCAA's, competing twice in the NCAA Cross Country Championships and once in the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships in the steeplechase. He was the 2002 and '03 Big South Cross Country Champion, earning all-conference honors three times (2002, '03 and '04) and NCAA All-Southeast Region twice (2002 and '03). In addition, Kipchiris was a United States Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team selection in 2003, while earning Big South Cross Country All-Academic Team honors twice (2003 and '04). During the outdoor track season, Kipchiris won the Big South steeplechase in 2004 and '05 as well as setting the league record in the event with a time of 8:48.42. He additionally was Big South Champion in the 5,000 and 10,000 meters in 2004, setting the school standard in both events with times of 14:22.10 and 29:38.62, respectively.

Lambert (Volleyball 1999-2002) becomes the first Coastal Carolina volleyball player to be inducted into the school's athletics Hall of Fame. Lambert defined the term student-athlete during her time at Coastal Carolina. She was a two-time first team All-Big South pick (2000 and '02) and two-time Big South Volleyballl Scholar-Athlete of the Year (2000 and '02). In addition, Lambert was the 2000 Big South Conference Overall Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as well as earning first team Academic All-America honors. She still owns school records in games played (464), total attacks (4,855) and digs (1,916), while leaving Coastal as the career leader in kills (1,561) and single-season kills leader with 487 in 2002. Lambert additionally set school single-season records in kills per game (4.09), total attacks (1,364) and digs (560).

Owens (Baseball 1999-02) was the Big South Conference Player of the Year in 2002, earning first team All-Big South honors in 2001 and '02. Owens set the school record for doubles in a season (24) in 2002, now ranking second, and his .417 batting average for that year ranks fourth in the school's record book. For his career, Owens tallied 249 hits, currently fifth-best (tied) in school history, while he currently ranks third in career doubles (54), fifth in career runs scored (175), sixth in career stolen bases (64), 10th in career triples (10), 11th in career RBI (139) and 17th (tied) in career home runs (26). Also a key cog in Coastal's team success as he helped the squad to NCAA berths in 2001 and '02, Owens was a 34th-round draft pick of the Toronto Blue Jays.

Vera (Men's Golf 2000-02) was the 2001 Big South Conference medalist and Player of the Year. Also in 2001, he became the first Chanticleer to earn an individual berth to the postseason, placing 56th at the NCAA East Regional. The following year, Vera helped Coastal Carolina reach the 2002 NCAA East Regional - the program's second NCAA berth. He was a two-time All-Big South pick (2001 and '02) and added a fourth-place finish at the 2002 Big South Championship to accompany his medalist honor the previous year. Vera ranks fifth on the school's career scoring list (73.73) and ranks second on the school's best 36-hole scores, posting a 137 at the Cleveland Golf Collegiate in 2001 thanks to a career-low 66 in round two to tie for sixth-best single-round in school history.

Coastal Carolina University's Sasser Athletic Hall of Fame Members

1991 Edward M. Singleton (Honorary) Violet Meade (Honorary) Walter Hamrick (Honorary) Jimmy Johnson (Honorary) Dan Selwa (Honorary)

1992 Mary Catherine Nance (Women's Basketball) Howard White (Men's Basketball) E. Cater Floyd (Honorary)

1993 Sherry Barnhill (Women's Basketball) Kirt Manwaring (Baseball) Tony Whittington (Men's Basketball)

1994 Mickey Brantley (Baseball)

1995 Craig Hawley (Men's Tennis)

1996 Donald Clement (Men's Golf)

1997 Sigurdur Sveinbjornsson (Men's Soccer)

1998 Holly Bottar (Women's Basketball) Tom Romano (Baseball) Terry Spires (Baseball) John Vrooman (Baseball Coach)

1999 Tony Dunkin (Men's Basketball) Michelle Hall (Softball) Randy Stokes (Baseball)

2000 Mark Clemons (Baseball) Claude Huggins (Men's Soccer) Matt Logue (Baseball) Michelle Minton (Softball)

2001 Robert Dowdell (Men's Basketball) Sara Graziano (Softball) Sherry Johnson (Softball) Mark Romer (Baseball)

2002 Luis Lopez (Baseball) Ross Moore (Men's Soccer) Neil Payne (Men's Soccer) Valentine Stumpf (Women's Cross Country/Track)

2003 Catherine Conder (Women's Cross Country/Track) Thomas Malik (Men's Tennis) Buddy Sasser (Honorary) Wayne White (Honorary)

2004 Jessica Falca (Softball) Guy Norcott (Men's Soccer) Angela Murphy (Women's Cross Country/Track) Eddie Dyer (Honorary)

2005 Brad Hastings (Men's Golf) Neal Robinson (Men's Soccer) Kevin Schnall (Baseball)

2006 Ronald R. Ingle (Honorary) Sarah Lockett (Softball) Scott Sturkie (Baseball) Jolene Williams (Women's Cross Country/Track)

2007 Emma Kidd (Women's Tennis) Brooke Weisbrod (Women's Basketball)

2008 Holly Lee (Softball) Brandon Powell (Baseball)

2009 Amber Campbell (Track and Field) Steven Carter (Baseball) Joseph Ngwenya (Men's Soccer) Dr. Richard Ward (Honorary)

2010 Medina Bajrambasic (Women's Tennis) Adam Keim (Baseball) Terah Kipchiris (Men's Cross Country/Track) Jeanne Lambert (Volleyball) Justin Owens (Baseball) Rafael Vera (Men's Golf)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago