Men's Cross Country Team Finishes in Third at Big South Championship

Three Chanticleer runners placed fourth through sixth.

Senior Jamie McCarthy finished in fourth place.

Senior Jamie McCarthy finished in fourth place.

Oct. 31, 2009

Complete Results

The Coastal Carolina University men's cross country team placed third at the Big South Championship Saturday morning, Oct. 31 at Winston-Salem, N.C.

The Chanticleers finished the race with a total of 59 points, while
Liberty won the meet with 33 points and host High Point came in second with 46 points.

Placing in fourth overall and first for the Chanticleers was senior Jamie McCarthy at 25:49. Sophomore Kyle Kling followed in fifth place with a time of 25:56 and redshirt-junior Max Hacker placed in sixth with a time of 26:10, the highest he's ever finished in the meet. For their efforts, McCarthy, Kling and Hacker earned All-Conference honors. Kling also garnered honors on the All-Conference Academic Team.

"I am pleased with the results as the teams that beat us were better runners," said Head Coach Jeff Jacobs. "The top three ran excellent. Max Hacker ran the best he ever has, and he deserves a lot of credit and Jamie McCarthy came through for us in the end."

Chanticleer senior Ryan Caputo finished with a time of 27:15 in 20th place, finishing 30 places ahead of last year's result. Freshman Jarod Williams finished had a time of 27:28 in 24th place, rounding out the scoring for the Chanticleers. Josh Tormasi came in sixth for the Chants in 37th place with a time of 28:00, while David Mead finished in 50th place at 29:06. Spencer Lange was the final Chanticleer runner, placing 70th at 31:26.

Liberty's Sam Chelanga won the race and earned All-Big South Runner of the Year. High Point
's Jacob Smith earn the Freshman of the Year accolade. Liberty Head Coach Brant Tolsma was named the Coach of the Year.

The Chanticleers will compete in the NCAA Southeast Region Championship 10k at
Louisville, Ky. on November 14 at 11 a.m.

"We are looking forward to the regional meet," Jacobs said. "I think we could possibly have the best finish that we have ever had there this year."

2009 Runner of the Year
Sam Chelanga, Liberty

2009 Freshman of theYear
Jacob Smith, High Point

2009 Big South All-Conference Team
Sam Chelanga, Liberty
Evans Kiegan, Liberty
Josh Morgan, High Point
Jaime McCarthy, Coastal Carolina
Kyle Kling, Coastal Carolina
Max Hacker, Coastal Carolina
Neal Darmody, High Point
David Ricksecker, Liberty
Jacob Smith, High Point
Jake Reed, Liberty

2009 Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jason Wenzel, Gardner-Webb

2009 Cross Country All-Academic Team
Jason Wenzel, Gardner-Webb
Josh Morgan, High Point
Kyle Kling, Coastal Carolina
Mark Hopely, Liberty
Adam Freudenthal, Winthrop
Matt Satterwhite, VMI
Andrew King, Charleston Southern
Nicholas Baer, Presbyterian
Nathan Turner, Radford

Coach of the Year
Brant Tolsma, Liberty




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago