Baseball's Meo Named to the NCBWA Freshman All-America Second Team

Baseball's Meo Named to the NCBWA Freshman All-America Second Team

CONWAY, S.C. – Coastal Carolina University freshman pitcher Anthony Meo (Cranston, R.I./Cranston West) has been named to the Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Second Team, the organization announced June 9.   Meo was 9-2 with a 2.93 earned-run average in 17 appearances for the Chanticleers his first season on campus. He was named to the Louisville Slugger Freshman All-American team last week. Meo struck out 68 batters in 76.2 innings while holding opponents to a .233 batting average. A First Team All-Big South honoree at starting pitcher, Meo had a 5-2 record in conference play. He struck out a career-high 10 batters in the win over VMI May 10 and pitched seven innings, allowing just two earned runs with six strikeouts, in a Big South Tournament win over High Point May 22. Meo was the first-ever freshman Opening Day starter in the Gary Gilmore era, striking out six in six innings in a 16-3 win over Southern Illinois Feb. 20.   Florida’s Preston Tucker was named the National Hitter of the Year, while Florida State’s Sean Gilmartin was the National Pitcher of the Year. Meo and Winthrop’s Tyler Mizenko were the two players from the Big South Conference on the Second Team.   Coastal Carolina ended the 2009 season after winning the Big South regular-season and tournament title. The Chants also had eight All-Big South honorees and four All-Big South Tournament selections.   Pro-Line NCBWA 2009 Freshman All-America Teams First Team C – Jeremy Schaeffer, Tulane 1B – Preston Tucker, Florida 2B – Matt Jensen, Cal Poly 3B – Anthony Rendon, Rice SS – AJ Pettersen, Minnesota OF – Xavier Macklin, N.C. A&T OF – George Springer, Connecticut OF – Kolton Wong, Hawai’i OF – Ryan Wright, Louisville DH – Alex Dickerson, Indiana UT – Danny Hultzen, Virginia SP – Trevor Bauer, UCLA SP – Sean Gilmartin, Florida State SP – Taylor Jungmann, Texas SP – Tyler Pill, Cal State Fullerton RP – Sam Gaviglio, Oregon State RP – Mitchell Lambson, Arizona State RP – Matty Ott, LSU   Second Team C – C.J. Cron, Utah 1B – Ian Nielsen, Ball State 2B – Levi Michael, North Carolina 3B – Troy Channing, St. Mary’s SS – Joe Panik, St. John’s OF – Jackie Bradley, Jr., South Carolina OF – Kameron Brunty, Southern Miss OF – Taylor Dugas, Alabama OF – Dusty Robinson, Fresno State DH – Aaron Westlake, Vanderbilt UT – Zack Cox – Arkansas SP – Jordan Cooper, Wichita State SP – Eric Harrington, Lamar SP – Charlie Lowell, Wichita State SP – Anthony Meo, Coastal Carolina SP – Noe Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton RP – Austin Dicharry, Texas RP – Justin Malone, Georgia State RP – Tyler Mizenko, Winthrop



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago