Baseball Earns Top Seed in 2009 Royal Purple Big South Championships

Baseball Earns Top Seed in 2009 Royal Purple Big South Championships

Release courtesy of the Big South

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – For the third consecutive season and the fourth time in the last five years, Coastal Carolina is the No. 1 seed in the Royal Purple Big South Baseball Championship, which will be contested May 19-23 at McCormick Field in Asheville, N.C. The Chanticleers won the outright 2009 regular-season championship with a 21-5 Conference mark to win their fourth regular-season Big South baseball crown in five years and fifth in eight seasons. Coastal Carolina’s 21 Big South wins also tie the League’s single-season record.

Winthrop secured the No. 2 seed for the fifth time in six seasons with its record of 18-9 in Big South play (32-23 overall). Liberty, which has been the tournament’s runner-up the past three years, is the No. 3 seed following its 17-9 mark in League action this season (31-19 overall), and will open against Radford, which garnered the fourth seed with its 16-9 Conference mark (25-22 overall). It is the Highlanders’ highest seeding in the baseball tournament since being the No. 4 seed in 2004. The top four seeds will open tournament play on Wednesday, May 20.

For the third-straight year, the Big South Baseball Championship will feature eight squads competing for the League’s automatic berth to the NCAA Regional. The bottom four teams will play a single-elimination game on Tuesday, May 19. The first game will feature the No. 6-No. 7 game at 4:00pm, followed by the No. 5-No. 8 match-up at 7:00pm.

New Conference member Gardner-Webb will enter its first Big South baseball tournament as the No. 5 seed, and will face No. 8 seed VMI. High Point is the No. 6 seed this year and will face No. 7 seed Charleston Southern. VMI and Charleston Southern tied for seventh in the League standings with identical 10-15 records, but the Buccaneers earned the higher seed due to its 2-games-to-1 series win over the Keydets. Tournament host UNC Asheville did not qualify for the tournament with its 10th-place finish this season. New member Presbyterian College closed out the campaign in ninth-place at 7-19, but is not eligible for the Conference tournament until 2012 due to its transition to Division I.

Tuesday’s winners will advance to the main double-elimination bracket, with the lowest remaining seed playing No. 1 Coastal Carolina Wednesday morning at 11:00am, and the highest remaining seed facing No. 2 Winthrop at 3:00pm. The No. 3 Liberty-No. 4 Radford contest is scheduled for 7:00pm. Last season, the No. 6 seed (Radford) and No. 8 seed (UNC Asheville) advanced to the main bracket. In addition to the start of main bracket play Wednesday, the Big South will announce the 2009 All-Conference teams in an on-field ceremony prior to the 7:00pm contest.

The championship will continue with Games 4-6 on Thursday, May 21, Games 7-9 on Friday, May 22 and the championship game on Saturday, May 23 at 1:00pm. CMT country music artist Matt Stillwell will sing the National Anthem prior to Saturday’s title game.

The complete Conference Championship schedule appears below, and all games will be video streamed live on the League’s premium content web site, The Big South EDGE presented by State Farm. Tournament games will be available daily via the $6.95 Day Pass -- which covers all games played that respective day -- or the $19.95 Full Championship Pass, which features the tournament in its entirety. In addition, real-time "Live Stats" will be available on both the League’s and UNC Asheville’s website free of charge.



Tuesday, May 19 (Games A-B)

Game A: No. 6 seed High Point vs. No. 7 seed Charleston Southern, 4:00pm ET Game B: No. 5 seed Gardner-Webb vs. No. 8 seed VMI, 7:00pm ET

Wednesday, May 20 (Games 1-3)

Game 1: No. 1 seed Coastal Carolina vs. lowest remaining seed, 11:00am ET

Game 2: No. 2 seed Winthrop vs. highest remaining seed, 3:00pm ET Game 3: No. 3 seed Liberty vs. No. 4 seed Radford, 7:00pm ET

Thursday, May 21 (Games 4-6)

Game 4: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 11:00am ET

Game 5: Loser Game 3 vs. Winner Game 1, 3:00pm ET

Game 6: Winner Game 2 vs. Winner Game 3, 7:00pm ET

Friday, May 22 (Games 7-9)

Game 7: TBA vs. TBA, 11:00am ET

Game 8: TBA vs. TBA, 3:00pm ET

Game 9: TBA vs. TBA, 7:00pm ET

Saturday, May 23 (Games 10-11)

Game 10: Championship Game, 1:00pm ET

Game 11: If necessary, Championship Game (immediately following Game 10)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago