Flanagan Stays Undefeated; Men Finish as Big South Runner-Up

Jason Flanagan and Burton Jones II won event championships on the final day of the championship.

April 22, 2012

Complete Results

MYRTLE BEACH - Despite a five-plus hour rain delay after warming up, Jason Flanagan remained undefeated in the javelin on the season as he reestablished the Big South all-time record in helping the men's track and field team to a runner-up finish at the 2012 Big South Track and Field Championships.

The Flames of Liberty captured the overall men's team title with a score of 213 followed by the Chanticleers with 135 points and High Point with 98.

In all, Chanticleers captured three individual event championships and eight All-Big South Conference honors. Additionally, Kyle Kling was named to the Big South All-Academic team for the third time in his career.

After waiting two days and an extended weather delay to compete, Flanagan finally took to the javelin runway at 7:27 p.m. and did not disappoint the throng of onlookers gathered to see one of the championship's marquee events. The senior reaffirmed why he is the best athlete to ever throw a javelin in the Big South Conference as he broke his own league record, which he set earlier this season in ideal conditions at the North Florida Invitational, with a hurl of 73.01m (239-06). The distance shattered the previous conference championship record of 70.87m, held by Coastal's Thomas Jordan, along with Flanagan's 71.30m Doug Shaw Memorial Stadium record. Sophomore Tyler Slapikas also showed well for the Chanticleers, placing seventh in the 15-competitor field with a personal-record distance of 57.03m (187-01).

Senior Tyler Swanson set a personal-best in the discus with a seventh-place-worthy throw of 47.61m (156-02) to lead the four Chanticleers competing in the event. Cameron Griggs placed ninth overall with a toss of 47.57m (156-01). James Gore placed 10th with a distance of 45.15m (148-01) followed by Ryan Minor with a 43.65m (143-02) to place 12th in the 23 competitor field.

Burton Jones II, who had already captured a second and third place finish in the long and high jumps, finally claimed the elusive event championship in the triple jump. Jones II, who entered the event with the league's top performance, stayed true to form nearly equaling his best jump of the year with a 14.70m (48-02.75) to earn the gold medal. Sophomore JaDarrell Barnette was the true surprise of the event, finishing second with a personal-best leap of 14.26m (46-09.50). Raheen Frederick placed seventh with a distance of 13.78m (45-02.50) followed by Anthony Lynch in ninth with a personal-best 13.58m (44-06.75).

Four Chanticleers qualified for the 110m hurdles after a timing error caused the field to be set early on Saturday. Shane Norris, who set a personal-record with a 14.73 in the preliminaries, outdid himself in the finals, stopping the clock in 14.52 to establish a new personal-best and claim all-conference honors to place third in the event. Norris' time ranks third all-time in the Coastal Carolina all-time record book. Russel Kanner finished sixth in the finals with a 15.04. Carrington Fernandors, who ran a personal-best 14.88 in the trials, placed seventh in the final.

Kanner earned all-conference honors in the 400m hurdles as he placed third overall. Kanner clocked a season-best time of 53.74. Norris crossed the line in seventh with a time of 56.09.

Stevie Brunson crossed the finish line fifth in the 400m-dash with a time season-best time of 48.23. Anthony Lynch set a new personal-record in the event with a 48.87 effort to place seventh.

Sophomore Tyler Askew and senior Corey Jameson each ran season-best times in the 100m-dash to place fourth and fifth, respectively. Askew clocked a 10.79 in the event, while Jameson ran a 10.81.

Joseph Wilson was the Chants' lone representative in the stout 200m finals. The freshman placed sixth overall with a 22.00 split.

Coastal's 4x100m quartet of Askew, Jameson, Joseph Wilson and Ronnie Jackson crossed the finish line in a season-best time of 40.94. The finish placed the Chants third in the event as they were narrowly edged by Liberty's 40.65 time.

The 4x400m relay team of DeAndra Lipscomb, Anthony Lynch, Stevie Brunson and Nicholas Parks placed fourth with a time of 3:15.77. The time was the best by a Chanticleer foursome this season.

Kyle Kling, competing in the final Big South Championship meet of his career, placed eighth in the 5,000m run. Kling clocked in at a season-best 14:57.09. Joseph Keitt used a career-best 15:31.58 to place 14th followed by Evan Niciphor (15:41.86) in 16th and Tyler Cummings (16:15.19) in 20th.

2012 All-Big South Honorees
Tyler Askew - Long Jump, champion
Burton Jones II - Long Jump, third; High Jump, second; Triple Jump, champion
Shane Norris - 110m Hurdles, third
Russel Kanner - 400m Hurdles, third
Jason Flanagan - Javelin, champion
JaDarrell Barnette - Triple Jump, second
4x100m Relay - third
     Tyler Askew, Corey Jameson, Joseph Wilson, Ronnie Jackson

Men's Team Results
1. Liberty - 213
2. Coastal Carolina - 135
3. High Point - 98
4. Charleston Southern - 78
4. VMI - 78
6. Radford - 57
7. Winthrop - 55
8. Gardner-Webb - 49.50
9. Campbell - 31
10. UNC Asheville - 20

Men’s Most Outstanding Track Performer
Javon Young, Charleston Southern

Men's Most Outstanding Field Performer
Ryan Smith, Liberty

Men’s Freshman of the Year

Kyle Wheeler, Liberty

Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Brett Olinger, Radford

Men's All-Academic
Christopher Schulist, Campbell
Matt Smith Charleston Southern
Kyle Kling, Coastal Carolina

Carson Sears, Gardner-Webb
Jevin Monds, High Point
Jacob DeValve, Liberty
Brett Olinger, Radford
Jeremy Harn, UNC Asheville
Cabell Willis, VMI
Adam Leroux, Winthrop

Men's Coach of the Year
Brant Tolsma, Liberty



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago