Tsangaridis, Nilsson and Christofides Among All-Conference Honorees

No. 6 Coastal faces No. 3 Liberty in the quarterfinals on Thursday at 11:30 a.m.


Philippe Tsangaridis

April 15, 2014

2014 Men's Tennis Championship Bracket

Schedule Note: Due to rain, Tuesday's first-round match has been moved to Wednesday. The quarterfinals will be played on Thursday, followed by the semifinals on Friday and championship match on Saturday. The starting time for all matches have remained the same.

Charlotte, N.C. - Coastal Carolina University’s Philippe Tsangaridis, Ted Nilsson and Leo Christofides were named all-conference honorees Tuesday afternoon as the Big South released its annual men’s tennis post-season awards. The all-conference nods are career-firsts for all three student-athletes. 

Tsangaridis, a junior transfer from Alabama, was named all-conference in both singles and doubles for his excellent play in his historic first season as a Chanticleer. 

Playing all but one match at No. 1, Tsangaridis posted an 11-7 singles record and became the first Chanticleer to be ranked in the top 125 singles players nationally by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. Tsangaridis again made Coastal men’s tennis history when he defeated #13 Joran Vliegan of East Carolina in a No. 1 singles match, marking the highest-ranked opponent ever beaten by a Coastal Carolina player. In total, Tsangaridis faced four nationally ranked opponents this season, as well as Presbyterian’s Grayson Mills, the 2014 Big South Player of the Year. 

In doubles, Tsangaridis finished with an 11-5 record, including winning five of six conference matches, having played every match at No. 1. 

Christofides, who was paired with Tsangaridis at No. 1 for all but two matches this season, finished with an impressive 13-5 overall record, including a 6-1 mark against Big South opponents. Coastal’s No. 1 duo was matched up against some of the best doubles pairs nationally, including #30 Adam Lee/Predro Dumont of Wake Forest, #33 Michael Redlicki/Jason Tahir of Duke and #49 Andre Bjerrehus/Hunter Koontz of Virginia Tech. 

Christofides, a member of the Big South Presidential Honor Roll, was additionally named to the 2014 Big South All-Academic Team. 

Nilsson, a senior from Bunkeflostrand, Sweden, posted a perfect 8-0 singles record in Big South matches and finished the regular season with Coastal’s highest overall singles record of 15-5. Nilsson split time on the first five singles courts, but played primarily at No. 3 where he went 7-2. Nilsson ended the regular season with six straight singles wins, all against conference opponents. 

The Chanticleers additionally had two doubles pairs that were named Big South flight champions based on conference records at a particular position. 

Tsangaridis and Christofides were named the Big South’s No. 1 doubles flight champion while Coastal’s second pairing of junior Garik Yedigarian and freshman Renan Samed were named the conference’s No. 2 doubles flight champion. Each Coastal duo held league-high records of 6-1. 

The sixth-seeded Chanticleers begin their Big South title defense on Thursday when they face No. 3 Liberty in an 11:30 a.m. match in Boiling Springs, N.C. The Chants lost a 4-3 match to the Flames earlier this season. Coastal jumped out to a 3-1 lead in that match, but Liberty rallied on the final three singles courts to take the win. 

The winner of Thursday's match will move on to Friday's semifinals to play the winner of No. 2 Winthrop/No. 7 Gardner-Webb. 

The 2014 Big South Men’s Tennis Championship begins Wednesday, April 15 with two matches, and concludes with the Championship contest on Saturday, April 19 in Boiling Springs, N.C.  The Big South's tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Men’s Tennis Championship.

2014 Big South Men’s Tennis Tournament Schedule
Wednesday, April 16 - First Round
Match 1: No. 8 UNC Asheville vs. No. 9 Longwood, 8:00am ET

Thursday, April 17 - Quarterfinals
Match 2: No. 1 Presbyterian vs. Winner Match 1, 8:00am ET
Match 3: No. 4 Campbell vs. No. 5 Radford, 8:00am ET
Match 4: No. 2 Winthrop vs. No. 7 Gardner-Webb, 11:30am ET
Match 5: No. 3 Liberty vs. No. 6 Coastal Carolina, 11:30am ET

Friday, April 18 - Semifinals
Match 6: Winner Match 2 vs. Winner Match 3, 10:00am ET
Match 7: Winner Match 4 vs. Winner Match 5, 10:00am ET

Saturday, April 19 - Championship
Match 8: Winner Match 6 vs. Winner Match 7, 2:00pm ET

All-Conference Singles:
Grayson Mills, Presbyterian
Nicholas Sayer, Radford
Fernando Guillen, Campbell
Philippe Tsangaridis, Coastal Carolina
Shea Thomas, Liberty
Ted Nilsson, Coastal Carolina
Dylan Comerford, Winthrop
Ernest Alberch, Gardner-Webb
Patrick O’Keefe, Radford

All-Conference Doubles:
Alex Croker and Brett Landau, UNC Asheville
Philippe Tsangaridis and Leo Christofides, Coastal Carolina
Egon Samaai and Dillon Segur, Liberty
Shea Thomas and Jorge Azuero, Liberty

Player of the Year:
Grayson Mills, Presbyterian

Freshman of the Year:
Diego Manzanas, Presbyterian

Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
Nicholas Sayer, Radford

Coach of the Year:
Adam Herendeen, Presbyterian

Men’s Tennis Flight Winners
No. 1 singles – Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College
No. 2 singles – Patrick O’Keefe, Radford
No. 3 singles – Dylan Comerford, Winthrop
No. 4 singles – Brendan Dempsey, Gardner-Webb
No. 5 singles – Juan Pablo Boada, Winthrop
No. 6 singles – Gonzalo Asis, Presbyterian College
                      Diego Manzanas, Presbyterian College

No. 1 Doubles – Leo Christofides/Philippe Tsangaridis, Coastal Carolina
No. 2 Doubles – Renan Samad/Garik Yedigarian, Coastal Caorlina
No. 3 Doubles – Diego Manzanas/Grayson Mills, Presbyterian College



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago