Ribeiro Named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Coastal has had a MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist in each of the past three seasons


Pedro Ribeiro

Dec. 3, 2013


CONWAY - Coastal Carolina midfielder Pedro Ribeiro is among the 15 semifinalists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Tuesday.

Ribeiro earned semifinalist honors after being named to the initial preseason watch list each of the past two seasons. The MAC Hermann Trophy is regarded as the highest individual award in college soccer.

Head coaches of NCAA Division I programs with current membership in the NSCAA will vote to determine the 2013 MAC Hermann Trophy recipient. Three finalists for the award will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 12. They will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis for a news conference on Friday, Jan. 10, 2014, where the winner will be announced. A dinner and formal presentation of the award will follow the news conference that evening. Fans will also have a chance to vote for their top three choices. Vote for Ribeiro starting Thursday, Dec. 5 by clicking on the link above.

Ribeiro joins former Coastal greats Joseph Ngwenya and Ashton Bennett as the only three Chanticleers or Big South student-athletes to earn MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist recognition.

After scoring six times as a freshman, nine as a sophomore and five as a junior, Ribeiro again proved his ability to find the back of the net as he closed the 2013 campaign with 11 goals. In addition, he notched seven assists, including four straight from Oct. 8-20. The Belo Horizonte, Brazil, native finished the season ranked 16th in the NCAA in points (29), 20th in goals (11), 37th in points per game (1.26) and 20th in assists (7).

Ribeiro was bestowed numerous honors and awards as he led the Chanticleers to a 19-5-0 record, including 9-1-0 mark in conference play, and a second straight NCAA Tournament Round of 16 appearance. Heading into the season he was named the Big South’s Preseason Attacking Player of the Year and earned Preseason All-American recognition from College Soccer News and TopDrawerSoccer.com. For his efforts on the pitch during the season, Ribeiro was tabbed to the College Soccer News National Team of the Week twice (Sept. 16 and Oct. 7). He was also named CollegeSportsMadness.com’s Big South Offensive Player of the Year and first team All-American.

Known as a ‘big game’ player throughout his career, Ribeiro proved that sentiment true again this season as he scored four of Coastal’s 10 goals against ranked competition.

The midfielder, who is projected to be a top 10 pick in the 2014 MLS SuperDraft, was named the Big South Attacking Player of the Year by the league’s coaches this season. He also picked up his third first team all-conference honor and was tabbed the league’s tournament MVP.

Ribeiro tallied one multi-goal game on the season, recording a brace as the Chants dispatched then-15th-ranked UNC Greensboro 4-2. Of his 11 goals, two proved to be game winners, including his free kick blast to give Coastal a 2-1 overtime victory at High Point. He notched one postseason goal with the Chants’ first score in its 3-2 come-from-behind win over Radford in the semifinal round of the Big South tournament.

The MAC has honored the top player in collegiate soccer since 1986. Some of the biggest names in soccer, such as Mia Hamm and Claudio Reyna, have won the award. For a complete list of past winners, go to www.mac-hermann-trophy.org.

2013 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Andre Blake, Connecticut
Junior Goalkeeper

Steven Birnbaum, University of California, Berkley
Senior Defender

AJ Cochran, University of Wisconsin
Junior Defender

Taylor Peay, University of Washington
Senior Defender

Kyle Venter, University of New Mexico
Senior Defender

Laurie Bell, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Junior Midfielder

Aodhan Quinn, University of Akron
Senior Midfielder

Pedro Ribeiro, Coastal Carolina University
Senior Midfielder

Leo Stolz, UCLA
Junior Midfielder

Pete Caringi III, UMBC
Senior Forward

Tim Hopkinson, Old Dominion University
Senior Forward

Sagi Lev-Ari, Cal State University - Northridge
Junior Forward

Patrick Mullins, University of Maryland
Senior Forward

Steve Neumann, Georgetown University
Senior Forward

Harrison Shipp, University of Notre Dame
Senior Forward



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago