Chants Draw Elon In First Round of NCAA Tournament

Coastal Carolina hosts Elon at 7 p.m. on Thursday.


Coastal earned its eighth NCAA berth under head coach Shaun Docking.

Nov. 12, 2012

2012 NCAA Men's Soccer Championship Bracket Get Acrobat Reader | Interactive Bracket

CONWAY - The Coastal Carolina men's soccer team and members of the media gathered in the Chanticleer Athletic Foundation suite inside The HTC Center on Monday evening to learn, with the rest of the nation, its first round opponent to the NCAA Championships by watching the nationally-broadcast webcast. The verdict was the Elon Phoenix for the second straight year.

The match is scheduled for Thursday, Nov. 15, at 7 p.m. on the Coastal Carolina University campus.

Tickets for the NCAA First Round are available by calling the CCU Athletics Ticket Office at 843-347-8499. Ticket prices are set for $7 for adults and $5 for youth (high school age and below) and students with a valid ID. All tickets are general admission, bleachers are first-come, first-served.

Coastal Carolina and Elon have met once this season with the Chants claiming a 2-1 victory over the Southern Conference tournament champion Phoenix. The winner will go on to play on Sunday, Nov. 18 at Wake Forest, the tournament's 15th seed. The Chants defeated the Phoenix 4-3 in thrilling fashion during the first round of the 2011 tournament in Conway.

The Chanticleers, who had 18 wins this season, earned a berth to the 2012 NCAA Tournament by winning its 11th Big South regular season title since 1986. This will make Coastal's 10th NCAA berth and the eighth under head coach Shaun Docking, who led the Chants to the NCAA postseason in 2001, `02, `03, `04, `05, `10 and `11. It will mark the second straight and third overall time Coastal has hosted an NCAA Men's Soccer Championship match.

The No. 12 nationally-ranked Chanticleers garnered a total of 14 All-Big South honors, including the league's attacking, defensive and coach of the year honors, released by the conference office Monday, Nov. 5. Head coach Shaun Docking was named Big South Coach of the Year, Ashton Bennett received Attacking Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year went to Kjartan Sigurdsson. Joining Bennett and Sigurdsson on the first team were Ricky Garbanzo, Pedro Ribeiro and Justin Portillo. Defenders Henrik Robstad and Uchenna Uzo along with netminder Federico Bertele earned second team all-conference honors, while Jhamie Hyde and Tevin Skyersearned all-freshman plaudits. Robstad was also named to the Big South All-Academic Team.

This marked the seventh time in his 17 years of coaching in the Big South that Docking has won the Coach of the Year award. Docking became the all-time wins leader at Coastal Carolina with 172 total wins. With a 10-0-0 Big South record, Docking improved to 83-21-7 (.757) in conference play during his 15 years as the Chanticleers head coach.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago