Pedro Ribeiro Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List

Ribeiro is one of 34 nationally to be named to the prestigious watch list


Pedro Ribeiro has been named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List for the second straight season.

Aug 20, 2013

CONWAY - The preseason accolades continue to accumulate for the Coastal Carolina men's soccer team, with the latest addition being Pedro Ribeiro earning recognition on the Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) 2013 Hermann Trophy Watch List.

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipient of the M.A.C's Hermann Trophy is selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA). Ribeiro, a rising senior, is among 34 of the best men's Division I intercollegiate soccer players who comprise the 2013 Watch List.

This marks the second consecutive year that the Coastal, ranked 13th in the NSCAA preseason poll, has had a student-athlete recognized on the Hermann Trophy Watch List. Last season Ashton Bennett, who went on to be named a semifinalist for the award, and Ribeiro were named to the initial list.

Ribeiro, a Belo Horizonte, Brazil, native, enters his senior campaign as one of Coastal's stalwarts in the midfield having notched 51 starts and 63 appearances in his three seasons as a Chanticleer. Ribeiro is a two-time Big South first team selection and earned All-Southeast Region honors from the NSCAA in both 2011 and 2012. The 6-foot-3 midfielder is also one of Coastal's six all-time NSCAA All-Americans, earning third team honors following his sophomore season.

Ribeiro finished the 2012 season with five goals and 10 assists for 20 points despite missing four games in the middle of the season with an injury. In 2012 he notched a pair of game winners for the Chants, including a late goal in Coastal's 1-0 win at Gardner-Webb. He also recorded a pair of goals in Coastal's 3-nil NCAA Tournament First Round win over Elon.

In Ribeiro's three seasons at Coastal, the Chanticleers own a 50-15-4 record and have won a Big South Conference tournament championship and two regular season titles. Additionally, Ribeiro has led Coastal to a total of six rounds of NCAA Tournament play spread across his three campaigns.

Near the end of the collegiate regular season, NCAA Division I coaches that are NSCAA members will vote on their top choices and the lists will be narrowed down to the top 15. College soccer fans will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection process, as they will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist starting in November at the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

From that pool, three finalists will be chosen to attend the award ceremony in January where the winner will be announced.

For more information about the history of the MAC Hermann Trophy and a list of past winners, visit For news and highlight reels from previous MAC Hermann presentations, visit



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago