Men's Golf Seeded 10th In NCAA East Regional


Men's Golf Seeded 10th In NCAA East Regional

INDIANAPOLIS -- Coastal Carolina's men's golf team was named the 10th seed for the NCAA East Regional at the Lake Nona Golf Club in Orlando, Fla., May 18-20, as selected by the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee. Coastal earned the Big South Conference's automatic berth by winning the PUPS/PDPS Big South Tournament and had been guaranteed a slot in the NCAA Championships prior to that by being ranked fourth in the East Region, one of nine regions of NCAA Division I collegiate golf. This seeding marks the highest seed ever received by the Chanticleers men's golf squad and the highest by any Big South team in the history of the league, surpassing last year's 11th seed in the East Regional where Coastal tied for eighth and advanced to its first ever NCAA Championship appearance.

Joining the Chanticleers in the region are Big South rivals Liberty, who are the 25th seed, and individually Charleston Southern's Shawn Hall. The championships will be played May 31-June 3 at Crosswater Golf Club at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon. The University of the Portland is the host institution for this year’s championships.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 19-21. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. 10 teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Lake Nona Golf-Orlando, Florida
Hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida Sports Commission

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Georgia (Southeastern)
2. UCLA (Pacific-10)
4. Georgia State (Colonial)
5. North Carolina
6. Southern California
7. Texas Tech
8. Wake Forest
9. Charlotte (Atlantic 10)
10. Coastal Carolina (Big South)
11. Auburn
12. Tennessee
13. South Carolina
14. Florida State
15. Indiana
16. Notre Dame (Big East)
17. Georgia Southern (Southern)
18. Maryland
19. Jacksonville (Atlantic Sun)
20. Western Illinois (Mid-Continent)
21. Wichita State (Missouri Valley)
22. Rhode Island
23. George Washington
24. Richmond
25. Liberty
26. Army
27. Binghamton

1. Luke List, Vanderbilt
2. Daniel Willett, Jacksonville State
3. Matt Cook, Western Carolina
4. Garrett Osborne, Alabama-Birmingham
5. Shawn Hall, Charleston Southern
6. Scott Stallings, Tennessee Tech