Men's Golf's Byrd, Terrell Earns Big South Player, Coach of the Year Honors


Men's Golf's Byrd, Terrell Earns Big South Player, Coach of the Year Honors

(portions courtesy of Big South Conference)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Coastal Carolina University redshirt-senior Zack Byrd and Chanticleers' head coach Allen Terrell were voted the 2008-09 Big South Men’s Golfer of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, by the League's head coaches, it was announced Sunday evening at the League’s annual men’s golf awards banquet.  Byrd also shared Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year accolades with Charleston Southern’s Herve Gevers from the League’s sports information directors. In addition, Coastal Carolina’s Sam Lyons was honored on the league's All-Big South squad.

Byrd was a unanimous Golfer of the Year selection by the head coaches after leading the Big South with a 71.37 scoring average during the regular-season.  Byrd returned from an injury last season to post four runner-up finishes this year and five overall top 10 finishes. This spring alone he is averaging 70.11 strokes per round, going a combined 25-under par and finishing in the top three in four and the top 20 in all six events.  He is ranked No. 20 in the nation by Golfweek and has scored under par in 15 of his 27 rounds this season.  Byrd also has seven rounds in the 60s, including a League-best and school-record 63, which he recorded in the final round of the Desert Shootout en route to a 15-under 201.  He also finished 7-under par at the Arizona Intercollegiate, 5-under par at the Administaff ASU Invitational, and 1-under par at the Bank of Tennessee at The Ridges. The 2005 Big South Freshman of the Year and 2005 Championship Medalist, Byrd is the sixth consecutive Chanticleer to win Men’s Golfer of the Year honors.

Terrell, in his ninth year at the helm, earns his record sixth Big South Coach of the Year honor after leading the Chanticleers to a No. 44 national ranking while playing the 24th toughest schedule in the country.  Four of his golfers currently rank in the Big South’s top 10 in scoring average, and he directed his program to four top-5 team finishes and eight top-10 standings during the season.  Coastal Carolina finished first at the Bank of Tennessee at The Ridges and was third at the Desert Shootout.  Terrell also had a golfer finish in the top 10 individually in eight of the Chanticleers’ nine events.  Terrell received four first-place votes and 12 total points, ahead of Liberty’s Jeff Thomas (three first-place votes and eight total points).

Lyons ranked second on the team and fourth in the Big South with a 73.83 stroke average in 18 rounds played. He shot two of the low four rounds for the team during the year, shooting a 7-under 65 in the second round of the Desert Shootout and a 4-under 66 in the first round of the SunTrust Gator Invitational. He posted his top finish at the Desert Shootout, posting an 8-under 208 to tie for ninth. He also tied for ninth at the SunTrust Gator Invitational, firing a 1-under 209. He had five rounds of par or better on the year and had two top-10 and three top-20 placings.

Byrd is a 3.27 student in recreation and sports management and is now a three-time Men’s Golf All-Academic team member.  Gevers has a 3.68 grade-point average as a business major and owns a 75.46 stroke average this season.  Byrd and Gevers are the first duo ever to share the Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year award.  Byrd is just the second Golfer of the Year to be voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year, joining Winthrop’s Kyle Christman in 2002, while Gevers is the first Charleston Southern honoree since Jim Gardas won the award three consecutive years from 1997-99.   

The 2009 Big South Men’s Golf Championship is being contested at The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety-Six, S.C., and begins Monday, April 20 with the first round beginning at 8:00 am.  The 54-hole event continues Tuesday, April 21 and concludes Wednesday, April 22, with the champion receiving the Big South’s automatic berth to the NCAA Regionals. The remaining All-Conference members will consist of the top five finishers (and any additional ties) in the Championship not among those named already. The event is free and open to the public.

2009 Big South Conference Men’s Golf Award Winners

Zack Byrd, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina
Robert Karlsson, Fr., Liberty
Sam Lyons, Jr., Coastal Carolina
Kelvin Day, Jr., Charleston Southern
Tobias Pettersson, Fr., Liberty

Academic All-Conference
Herve Gevers, Sr., Charleston Southern
Zack Byrd, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina
Scott Wheeler, Soph., Gardner-Webb
Zach Pranger, Sr., High Point
Jay Calvo, Sr., Liberty
Patrick Coleman, Jr., Presbyterian
Cipriano Ayala, Soph., Winthrop

Golfer of the Year
Zack Byrd, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina (unanimous)

Freshman of the Year
Robert Karlsson, Liberty (unanimous) 

Coach of the Year
Allen Terrell, Coastal Carolina

Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Zack Byrd, R-Sr., Coastal Carolina
Herve Gevers, Sr., Charleston Southern