Men's Golf Wins Third Consecutive Big South Title at 2006 PUPS/PDPS Big South Championships


Men's Golf Wins Third Consecutive Big South Title at 2006 PUPS/PDPS Big South Championships

More Information:    

    (courtesy Big South Conference)

NINETY SIX, S.C. – No. 1 seed Coastal Carolina shot a 292 team aggregate score in the final round of the 2006 PUPS/PDPS Big South Men’s Golf Championship Wednesday and maintained its nine-stroke lead over Charleston Southern to win its third-straight League crown, which was contested at The Patriot Club at Grand Harbor (par 72, 7001 yards) in Ninety Six, S.C. Coastal’s 54-hole total of 881 bested CSU’s 890 to finish ahead of the Buccaneers for the third consecutive year. Individually, Charleston Southern’s Shawn Hall shot a 1-under 71 Wednesday for a three-round score of 2-under 214 to capture Medalist honors, winning by one stroke over Liberty’s Parker McKoy (1-under 215).

Opening round play was slated to begin at 8:00am, but thunderstorms delayed the start two-and-a-half hours to 10:30am. Another storm 35 minutes into the start of competition suspended play an additional two-and-a-half hours, resulting in a shotgun start at 2:00pm.

High Point carded a 295 Wednesday to finish third at 895, its highest-ever finish in the Big South Men’s Golf Championship. Winthrop tallied a 296 to place fourth at 902, while Radford posted a 294 to enter the clubhouse at 904, jumping two spots to fifth from seventh place. Liberty (301) was sixth in the event with a 909, four shots ahead of seventh-place Birmingham-Southern (913).

Radford’s Aaron Summers recorded the lowest score of the afternoon with a 70 to finish tied for sixth at 221. Others under par Wednesday included Hall (71), CSU’s Stuart Carrihill (71) and High Point and Big South Freshman of the Year Ryan Wilson (71). Following McKoy in the overall individual standings were Coastal’s Dustin Johnson (third – 218) and Moises Cobo (fourth – 219), and High Point’s Marc Issler (fifth – 220).

The remaining All-Conference honorees, based on their Championship finish, are McKoy, Issler, Birmingham-Southern’s Austin Frye and High Point duo Ryan Wilson and Zachary Pranger. The group joins Hall, Johnson, Cobo, Summers and CSU’s Nick Olson to comprise the 2006 All-Conference team. With the crown, Coastal Carolina receives the Big South’s automatic bid to the NCAA Regional. Below are the final team scores and top 10 individual results:

Team Results
1. Coastal Carolina 301-288-292=881
2. Charleston Southern 302-296-292=890
3. High Point 299-301-295=895
4. Winthrop 313-293-296=902
5. Radford 297-313-294=904
6. Liberty 302-306-301=909
7. Birmingham-Southern 311-296-306=913

Top 10 Individual Results (plus Coastal)
1. Shawn Hall, Charleston Southern 71-72-71=214 (-2)
2. John Parker McKoy, Liberty 74-67-74=215 (-1)
3. Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina 74-72-72=218 (+2)
4. Moises Cobo, Coastal Carolina 74-72-73=219 (+3)
5. Marc Issler, High Point 73-74-73=220 (+4)
6. Aaron Summers, Radford 72-79-70=221 (+5)
Austin Frye, Birmingham-Southern 75-70-76=221 (+5)
8. Ryan Wilson, High Point 76-75-71=222 (+6)
Zachary Pranger, High Point 75-73-74=222 (+6)
10. Joachim Fourquet, Coastal Carolina 80-70-73=223 (+7)
Cameron Hooper, Coastal Carolina 75-74-74=223 (+7)

t32. Zack Byrd, Coastal Carolina 78-80-80=238




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago