Matt Hazel Recognized by SC Football Hall of Fame

Hazel is one of 10 on the initial South Carolina College Player of the Year Award watch list


Matt Hazel

Aug 30, 2013

Greenville - The group that honors the greatest football players in Palmetto State history now will be honoring the state's best current collegiate football player.

Officials with the South Carolina Football Hall of Fame announced today they will present the South Carolina College Player of the Year Award to the best football player who plays for a South Carolina college/university or is a South Carolina native playing college football anywhere during the 2013 season.

The award will be presented during the South Carolina Hall of Fame's induction ceremony in February 28, 2014.

Players on the initial watch list for the award are:
• Tajh Boyd, Sr., QB, Clemson
• Sammy Watkins, Jr., WR, Clemson
• Jadeveon Clowney, Jr., DE, South Carolina
• Connor Shaw, Sr., QB, South Carolina
• Bruce Ellington, Jr., WR/RS, South Carolina
• David Sims, Sr., B-Back, Georgia Tech (Calhoun County High School, St. Matthews, S.C.)
• Quinton Washington, Sr., DT, Michigan (Timberland High School, St. Stephen, S.C.)
• Tariq Edwards, Sr., LB, Virginia Tech (Cheraw, S.C.)
• Alvin Scioneaux, Sr., LB/S, Wofford
Matt Hazel, Sr., WR, Coastal Carolina

In addition, the top five write-in votes from media voters will be added to the preseason list. Voting for the Player of the Year will consist of media, Hall of Fame members, Hall of Fame Advisory Council members and a fan vote.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago