CCU

Men's Basketball Announces 2005-06 Schedule

       

Men's Basketball Announces 2005-06 Schedule

Four NCAA Tournament Teams and a Pair of Big Ten Trips Highlight the Slate

CONWAY, SC - The Coastal Carolina University men's basketball team has released its 2005-06 schedule today, Aug. 23, as announced by head coach Buzz Peterson. The Chanticleers will host 14 games inside Kimbel Arena, including five conference games in January.

Coastal will open the 2005-06 season at Jacksonville State, Mon., Nov. 21 and follow it up with a Nov. 26 trip to Wisconsin, who advanced to the 2005 NCAA Elite Eight. The Chanticleers will be making their second-ever trip to Madison, as the 1991-92 squad took on the Badgers.

CCU will then return home to host Coker in its home opener, Wed., Nov. 30 and then return to the road for its second straight Big Ten road game, taking on NCAA participant Minnesota, Sat., Dec. 3. The Chants then return home for four of the next five games, hosting Jacksonville, Dec. 11, and South Carolina State, Dec. 14, before heading on the road to UNC Wilmington, Dec. 17. Coastal then takes on Chowan, Dec. 19, in the last game before the Christmas break.

The Chanticleers will return from the holidays and host Ohio Valley College, Dec. 28, prior to taking to the road to play at Eastern Kentucky, the third NCAA Tournament team on the non-conference slate, Dec. 30. The final non-conference game occurs after the new year, as CCU hosts St. Andrews, Jan. 3.

Coastal opens up Big South Conference play with three consecutive road games, traveling to VMI (Jan. 7), High Point (Jan. 9) and Birmingham-Southern (Jan. 14). Following that, the Chants will play six of their next seven conference games at Kimbel Arena, playing three at home before heading to defending Big South Champion Winthrop, Jan. 24, and then return home for three more, concluding with High Point, Feb. 6.

CCU will then play four of its last six games on the road, starting at Charleston Southern, Feb. 9, and at UNC Asheville, Feb. 13. Coastal plays its last two regular-season home games on Feb. 18 and 20, taking on Birmingham-Southern and VMI, respectively, before closing the season at Liberty, Feb. 23, and Radford, Feb. 25. All the league games continue to be important, as the top four seeds will host the opening rounds of the Advance Auto Parts Big South Conference Championship, Feb. 28, with higher seeds hosting the remaining rounds Mar. 2 and 4.

"This schedule will have its challenges, both in the non-conference schedule, as well as in Big South play," Peterson said of his first schedule at CCU. "We definitely have some very challenging games, including playing four NCAA Tournament teams during the season and making two trips to the Big Ten. We believe this will prepare us for the rigors of conference action, as we have to step up immediately, opening with three league games on the road. But we are going to have to be ready, as the regular-season standings determine whether or not we come home to Kimbel Arena for the tournament. This should be an very interesting season for everyone involved with and following the program."

2005-06 Coastal Carolina Men's Basketball Schedule

Day Date Opponent Time
Fri. Oct. 28 Black/Teal Scrimmage 7 p.m.
Fri. Nov. 11 Anderson (Exhibition) 7 p.m.
Mon. Nov. 21 at Jacksonville State TBA
Sat. Nov. 26 at Wisconsin TBA
Wed. Nov. 30 Coker 7 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 3 at Minnesota 11 a.m.
Sun. Dec. 11 Jacksonville 5 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 14 South Carolina State 7 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 17 at UNC Wilmington 7 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 19 Chowan 7 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 28 Ohio Valley College 7 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 30 at Eastern Kentucky TBA
Tue. Jan. 3 St. Andrews 7 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 7 at VMI* TBA
Mon. Jan. 9 at High Point* TBA
Sat. Jan. 14 at Birmingham-Southern* 4 p.m.
Mon. Jan. 16 UNC Asheville* 7 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 19 Charleston Southern* 7 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 21 Radford* 4 p.m.
Tue. Jan. 24 at Winthrop* TBA
Sat. Jan. 28 Liberty* 4 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 4 Winthrop* 2 p.m.
Mon. Feb. 6 High Point* 7 p.m.
Thu. Feb. 9 at Charleston Southern* TBA
Mon. Feb. 13 at UNC Asheville* TBA
Sat. Feb. 18 Birmingham-Southern* 2 p.m.
Mon. Feb. 20 VMI* 7 p.m.
Thu. Feb. 23 at Liberty* TBA
Sat. Feb. 25 at Radford* TBA
Tue. Feb. 28 Advance Auto Parts Big South Conference Quarterfinals $ 7 p.m.
Thu. Mar. 2 Advance Auto Parts Big South Conference Semifinals $ TBA
Sat. Mar. 4 Advance Auto Parts Big South Conference Championship $ TBA

* Big South Conference Game
$ Home sites of higher seed
All home games in Bold. All times are site times.