NIT Field To Be Announced On ESPNU


March 8, 2011

NEW YORK - The field for the 74th Annual National Invitation Tournament will be announced this Sunday, March 13th on ESPNU at 9 p.m. Eastern time.

The Committee will convene in Indianapolis on March 11th to continue the process of selections that has been ongoing throughout the basketball season. The 2011 field will again feature regular season conference champions not selected to the NCAA Championship by receiving automatic qualification to the NIT.

C.M. Newton, a member of the Naismith Hall of Fame has served as chair of the Committee since 2005, when the NCAA began operating the NIT.  He is joined on the Committee by Rudy Davalos, Don DeVoe, Reggie Minton, Jack Powers, Les Robinson, Bob Weltlich and Carroll Williams.

First round action for the NIT tips off on March 15 and 16; second round action is slated for March 18, 19, 20 and 21 with the quarterfinals tipping on March 22 and 23.

The NIT comes to New York's Madison Square Garden for the semi-final doubleheader on March 29 with the championship game on March 31.

The ESPN Networks, which includes ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, and will once again provide coverage of all 31 games of the NIT.

The National Invitation Tournament was founded in 1938 by a group of New York City sportswriters. The NIT Season Tip-Off, formerly the preseason NIT, was started in 1985, features a 16 team field and is conducted in November.  In August of 2005, the NIT LLC, which is under the umbrella of the NCAA, assumed control of the NIT. An independent at- large committee selects the field for both events and since their inception, tens of thousands of student-athletes and coaches have participated in the events.  For more information visit .