Wildschutt Sweeps Men’s Awards; van Onselen Sun Belt Newcomer of Year


Nov. 7, 2017

Boone, N.C. - Nadeel Wildschutt swept the Sun Belt men’s cross country individual awards (Most Outstanding Performer, Freshman of the Year, and Newcomer of the Year) while Lisha van Onselen took home the women’s Newcomer of the Year award. Both Wildschutt and van Onselen were named first team All-Sun Belt.

Coastal Carolina’s freshman Wildschutt finished first in 24:44.3, becoming the second Chanticleer to win a men’s cross country title joining Tehar Kipchiris, who won back-to-back Big South titles in 2002 and 2003. Hutson Baumann placed ninth in the men’s race with 25:26.6, giving him six top 10 finishes on the year to earn second team All-Sun Belt honors.

Van Onselen earned her award by virtue of placing second with her time of 17:38.5.


First Team All-Sun Belt

Nadeel Wildschutt (Coastal Carolina)

Justin Domangue (UTA)

Beau Robinson (Louisiana)

Isaac Lalang (Little Rock)

Evan Georges (Appalachian State)

Second Team All-Sun Belt

Joel Duren (UTA)

Joseph Meade (Texas State)

Gable Dershem (Appalachian State)

Hutson Baumann (Coastal Carolina)

Logan Pittdman (Texas State)

Third Team All-Sun Belt

Brady Steele (UTA)

Warno Potgeiter (South Alabama)

Migael Heine Strydom (South Alabama)

Noe Belmares (Texas State)

Jonathan Kimutai (Louisiana)

Most Outstanding Performer

Nadeel Wildschutt (Coastal Carolina)

Freshman of the Year

Nadeel Wildschutt (Coastal Carolina)

Newcomer of the Year

Nadeel Wildschutt (Coastal Carolina)

Coach of the Year

Michael Curcio (Appalachian State)


First Team All-Conference

Laura Labuschaigne (South Alabama)

Lisha van Onselen (Coastal Carolina)

Tori Shelton (UTA)

Devina Schneider (Texas State)

McKynzie King (Texas State)

Second Team All-Conference

Shanieke Watson (Little Rock)

Lotte Meyberg (Georgia State)

Kendra Long (Texas State)

Courtney Musgrove (Louisiana)

Nikki Sanchez (Texas State)

Third Team All-Conference

Carolien Millenaar (South Alabma)

Nicole Van Der Merwe (South Alabama)

Emily Fedders (Appalachian State)

Pauline Meyer (Arkansas State)

Megan Scannell (Appalachian State)

Runner of the Year

Laura Labuschaigne (South Alabama)

Freshman of the Year

McKynzie King (Texas State)

Newcomer of the Year

Lisha van Onselen (Coastal Carolina)

Coach of the Year

Jody Stewart (Texas State)



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago