Women's Cross Country Voted to Repeat as Big South Champs

The Chants begin their season hosting the CCU Invitational on Aug. 29 at The Hackler Golf Course.


2013 Big South Runner of the Year Letitia Saayman

2013 Big South Runner of the Year Letitia Saayman

Aug. 19, 2014

2014 XC ScheduleGet Acrobat Reader

Charlotte, N.C. - The Coastal Carolina University women's cross country team was voted first in the Big South Conference's annual preseason poll, announced on Tuesday and based on voting by the league's head coaches.


The Chanticleers are the defending conference champions, having captured the program's 13th Big South title in 2013.


Coastal received eight first-place votes, and 117 total points, to be crowned the preseason favorite. Liberty finished second in the poll with two first-place votes and 106 points. High Point was voted third with 98 points and collected the final first-place vote.


UNC Asheville claimed fourth place with 88 points, followed by Campbell in fifth (78) points, Radford in sixth (62 points) and Winthrop in seventh (57 points). Charleston Southern was voted eighth with 39 points, just ahead of Longwood who finished ninth with 37 points. Gardner-Webb finished 10th (30 points) and Presbyterian College was 11th (14 points).


The CCU women's cross country team returns seven runners from last year's championship squad including junior Letitia Saayman, the 2013 Big South Runner of the Year, and sophomore Kyla van Graan, the 2013 Big South Freshman of the Year.


The Chanticleers kick off the 2014 season on Friday, August 29, when they host the annual Coastal Carolina Invitational at The Hackler Golf Course. The first race is set to begin at 6 p.m.


2014 Big South Conference Women's Cross Country Preseason Poll


Rk	Team (first-place votes)
1.      Coastal Carolina(8)	117
2.	Liberty(2)      	106
3.	High Point(1)      	 98
4.	UNC Asheville         	 88
5.	Campbell	         78
6.	Radford	                 62
7.	Winthrop                 57
8.	Charleston Southern	 39
9.	Longwood    	         37
10.	Gardner-Webb     	 30
11. Presbyterian 14

Note: Points are based on a weighted system, with first-place votes receiving 11 points, followed by 10 points for second-place, and so on.

More Headlines



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago