Women Complete Triple Crown; Men Finish Second at BSC Championships

Chants Capture Their Eighth Big South Conference Outdoor Championship


Reggie Nelson holding his Field Performer of the Year trophy and Big South Conference Runner-Up trophy

April 21, 2014

Complete Results

ROCK HILL - After weather forced the 2014 Big South Conference Track & Field Championships to move some events to Monday afternoon, the Coastal Carolina women's track & field team can finally call itself champion. The Chanticleers clinched the title on Saturday but the Championship was not officially decided till this afternoon. The men finished second as Reggie Nelson won the high jump Monday afternoon to help close the gap with Liberty.

The outdoor championship for the women completes the "Triple Crown" for the 2013-14 season. The "Triple Crown" represents a championship in cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field. The title is also the 28th championship the Coastal Carolina women's cross country and track & field program has won in 28 years of existence. The outdoor championship is the eighth for the women and fifth out of the last seven years.

The men and women will celebrate their accomplishments Tuesday afternoon at the Beaty Memorial Victory Bell outside of Brooks Stadium. The all-conference finishers will be announced and the team trophies will be handed out. The ceremony will begin at 4:45 p.m.

Reggie Nelson and Derrick Kinloch, Jr. brought home the final points of the event for the Chants. Nelson won the high jump with a height of 2.14m (7-00.25) which is just over seven feet. Kinloch, Jr. finished sixth with a leap of 1.95m (6-04.75).

The women won with a total of 216 points. Liberty finished second with 176.5 points and High Point finished third at 92 points. The men's championship was won by Liberty with 225.5 points. Coastal finished second with 171 points while High Point finished third with 128 points.

Reggie Nelson was named the Big South Men's Outstanding Field Performer of Year. Nelson finished first in the high jump and third in the long jump at the championships. Teka Simpson was elected the Big South Women's Outstanding Field Performer of the Year. Simpson won the long jump and finished second in the high jump.

Director of Cross Country/Track & Field Alan Connie was named Women's Coach of the Year by the Big South Conference.

Seniors Emily Marchini and Cameron Griggs were named to the Women's and Men's All-Academic Teams, respectively.

In all, Coastal' s women captured 24 All-Conference awards, won Field Performer of the Year and Coach of the Year and won six events at the 2014 Big South Conference Championships. The men captured 22 All-Conference awards, won Field Performer of the Year and won five events.

2014 Big South All-Conference Performers (Women)
Sharmaine Barnes - 4x400mR, third
Imani Boatwright - 4x400mR, third
Ashley Davis - 100mH, second
Ruby Durham - 4x100mR, champion
Leah Fair - 4x400mR, third
Jessica Gelibert - 400mH, champion; 100mH, third
Christal Green - 400m, champion
Jalacy Green - shot put, second
Tiffani Kuhn - javelin, third
Emily Marchini - 800m, third; 1500m, third
Kelila Naules - 4x100mR, champion
Shelby Nicosia - 3,000m Steeplechase, champion
Letitia Saayman - 10,000m, champion; 5,000m, second
Teka Simpson - Long Jump, champion; 4x100mR, champion; high jump, second; 200m, third
Kaila Smith - 4x400mR, third
Symphony Thompson - 4x100mR, champion; 100m, third
Otessa Velasquez - javelin, second

2014 Big South All-Conference Performers (Men)
JaDarrell Barnette - triple jump, third
Stevie Brunson - 4x100mR, champion; 400m, second; 4x400mR, second
Steve Carr - 4x400mR, second; 400m, third
Jackson Corcoran - javelin, champion
Carrington Fernandors - 100mH, third
Corey Hackett-Greene - 4x400mR, second
Alexander Hass - 400m, champion; 4x100mR, champion; 200m, third
Kevondre' Hunt - 100mH, second; 400mH, third
Ronnie Jackson - 4x100mR. champion
Ishmael Kamara - triple jump, champion
Russel Kanner - 400mH, second
Derrick Kinloch, Jr. - triple jump, second
DeAndra Lipscomb - 4x100mR, champion
Reggie Nelson - High Jump, champion; Long Jump, third
Deion Wellington - 4x400mR, second

Men's All-Academic Team
Eric Baldwin, Campbell
Cameron Griggs, Coastal Carolina
Carson Sears, Gardner-Webb
Austin Miller, High Point
Jacob DeValve, Liberty
Syler Winchester, UNC Asheville
Cabell Willis, VMI
Carlo Raiteri, Winthrop

Men's Outstanding Track Performer of the Year
Josh MacDonald, Liberty

Men's Outstanding Field Performer of the Year
Reggie Nelson, Coastal Carolina

Men's Freshman of the Year
Fabian Jarrett, Campbell

Men's Coach of the Year
Brant Tolsma, Liberty

Women's All-Academic Team
Chelsey Bush, Campbell
Laquestis Scott, Charleston Southern
Emily Marchini, Coastal Carolina
Meredith Byl, Gardner-Webb
Christine Rickert, High point
Jacy Christiansen, Liberty
Teresa Williamson, Radford
Corey McClintock, UNC Asheville
Hannah Dickinson, VMI
Jeanne Stroud, Winthrop

Women's Outstanding Track Performer of the Year
Anna Scott, Campbell

Women's Outstanding Field Performer of the Year
Teka Simpson, Coastal Carolina

Women's Freshman of the Year
Anna Scott, Campbell

Women's Coach of the Year
Alan Connie, Coastal Carolina

More Headlines



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago