Chanticleers Repeat as Big South Indoor Champs

Team effort propels Coastal past Liberty on final day


Three-time All-Big South honoree Christal Green

Three-time All-Big South honoree Christal Green

March 1, 2014

Complete Results

BLACKSBURG, Va. - Behind a second straight day with a strong overall team performance, the Coastal Carolina women's indoor track and field team stormed by Liberty on Saturday to win its second consecutive Big South Conference championship.

Trailing by nine points entering the day, the Chanticleers outscored the Flames 150-86 on the final day to finish with a commanding overall meet edge of 203-148 and win their seventh conference title overall.

"We're so proud of our team championship," said head coach Alan Connie, who won his 32nd overall Big South Coach of the Year honor and 10th in indoor track. "It was a complete team victory across all events. So many athletes stepped up and had personal or season bests. The championship is well-deserved and a testament to the team's work ethic, dedication and determination."

Coastal notched 17 top-five finishes and four event titles on the day. Christal Green, Letitia Saayman and Amirah Al-Bayyinah won event championships, along with the 4x400 relay team of Jessica Gelibert, Camille Hurley, Leah Fair and Green.

Green led a 1-2-3 Coastal finish in the 400 meters and set a new conference record with a time of 53.85. She already owned the regular conference record in the event. Camille Hurley was runner-up in 55.33 and Jessica Gelibert took third in 55.61.

The Chanticleers also claimed the top two spots in the 5,000 meters as Saayman won with a new meet-record time of 17:01.09. Kyla van Graan earned runner-up honors in 17:14.60.

Al-Bayyinah rebounded from a disappointing long jump on Friday to take the triple jump title with a leap of 12.44 meters (40-9.75). Kelila Naules added a fifth-place finish with a mark of 11.80 meters (38-8.75).

The 4x400 relay team capped off the meet by winning in a time of 3:45.40, lowering the record CCU had already held. Green clocked a 53.70 split while running the anchor leg to bring it home.

Coastal claimed three of the top four finishes in the 60-meter hurdles. Gelibert took second place in 8.40, behind only Charleston Southern's Jean Mulern, who broke her own conference record with an 8.23. Ashley Davis took third place in 8.60, while Hurley was fourth in 8.63. Christina Davis finished eighth in 8.93.

CCU athletes also had three of the top seven spots in the 200 meters as Green took second place in 24.26, Teka Simpson placed fourth in 24.49 and Symphony Thompson placed seventh in 25.10.

Simpson contributed runner-up points in the high jump, clearing 1.67 meters (5-5.75). The Chanticleers' depth showed in the distance events as they took three of the top seven spots in the mile and three of the top eighth in the 800 meters.

In the mile, Emily Marchini placed third with a time of 4:54.33. She was followed by Shelby Nicosia in fifth with a time of 5:02.11 and Aynslee van Graan, who took seventh in 5:04.59. In the 800, Aynslee van Graan finished third in a time of 2:13.87, just ahead of Marchini, who placed fourth in 2:14.59. Imani Boatwright was eighth in 2:20.76.

Coastal also had four athletes earn points in the 60-meter dash. Ruby Durham placed fourth in 7.68, Fair took sixth in 7.75, Simpson finished seventh in 7.76 and Thompson was eighth in 7.81.

The Chants additionally had two scorers in the shot put as Jalacy Green placed fifth with a personal-best throw of 13.57 meters (44-6.25) and Krissy Sansbury took eighth with a mark of 12.83 meters (42-1.125).

Overall, 11 Chanticleer athletes combined to earn 18 All-Big South honors. Green and Gelibert were both three-time all-conference, while Hurley, Simpson and Kyla van Graan were two-time all-conference.

All-Big South Conference
Christal Green, 400m champion, 4x400 relay champion, 200m second
Jessica Gelibert, 4x400m champion, 60 hurdles second, 400m third
Camille Hurley, 4x400 champion, 400m second
Amirah Al-Bayyinah, triple jump champion
Letitia Saayman, 5,000m champion
Teka Simpson, high jump second, long jump second
Kyla van Graan, 3,000m second, 5,000m second
Aynslee van Graan, 800 third
Emily Marchini, mile third
Ashley Davis, 60 hurdles third
Leah Fair, 4x400 relay champion

Women's Coach of the Year
Alan Connie

Women's All-Academic Team
Emily Marchini